Engineering Library

Engineering, Scientific & Technical Databases

This listing is only of Engineering and Science related databases. Additional electronic databases and resources covering a variety of topics are available. Consult the UW Libraries Databases Page for a complete list. Review the Usage Guidelines for using UW Libraries electronic databases!


A / B / C / D / E / F / G / H / I / J / K / L / M / N / O / P / Q / R / S / T / U / V / W / X / Y / Z /

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE
Search Academic Search Complete for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences as well as engineering and technology. A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. UW Restricted.

ACM DIGITAL LIBRARY
The Digital Library is a work in progress. New issues are mounted as they are published. 95% of all ACM journals and proceedings from 1991 and forward, full-text, available in the Digital Library. The bibliographic data represents papers published in ACM journals since 1985. UW Restricted.

ADVANCED POLYMERS ABSTRACTS
Advanced Polymers Abstracts captures technical information about the uses, manufacturing, and properties of thermoset and thermoplastic resins. It is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database. Coverage includes 1986-current. UW Restricted.

AEROSPACE & HIGH TECHNOLOGY DATABASE (formerly Aerospace Database)
Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. In addition to journal literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA and other U.S. government agencies. Updated monthly, coverage from 1962-present. UW Restricted.

AGRICOLA
Agriculture and related subjects. Indexes over 2000 journals along with many books, conference proceedings, research reports, and other types of documents. Covers 1982 to the present. UW Restricted. (There is also a free web version of Agricola.)

AIAA TECHNICAL PAPERS ONLINE DATABASE
This American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics database displays the full-text of AIAA publications and Technical Papers from 2005 only and citation information for documents since 1963. UW Restricted.

AIR UNIVERSITY LIBRARY INDEX TO MILITARY PERIODICALS
Index to articles, news items, and editorials from approximately 80 English language military and aeronautical periodicals.The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously.

ALUMINIUM INDUSTRY ABSTRACTS
Provides comprehensive coverage of the world's technical literature on aluminum, production processes, products, applications, and business developments. Includes information abstracted from approximately 2,300 scientific and technical journals, government reports, conference proceedings, dissertations, books, and patents. Updated monthly. Covers 1972 to the present. UW Restricted.

ANTE: ABSTRACTS IN NEW TECHNOLOGIES AND ENGINEERING
ANTE covers publications from the U.K. and the U.S. on new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. Abstracts are available from January 1993 to the present, but citations are provided back to 1981. UW Restricted.

AQUATIC SCIENCES AND FISHERIES ABSTRACTS (ASFA)
Indexes marine science, oceanography, and fisheries journal literature, as well as some technical reports, conference proceedings and monographs. Covers 1978 to the present. UW Restricted.

ASCE CIVIL ENGINEERING DATABASE
This database is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers ASCE documents published since January 1970. It provides bibliographic access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.

ASM HANDBOOKS ONLINE
All twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions published by ASM International. Includes metals and engineered materials.UW Restricted.

BIOSIS PREVIEWS (1969 - present)
The world's largest database in the life sciences, covers a wide range of topics, including ecology, zoology, botany, biotechnology, microbiology, and medicine. Updated weekly. UW Restricted.

BRITTANICA ONLINE
Includes the text and illustrations from the Encyclopaedia, the Britannica Book of the Year, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, and the Britannica Internet Guide, and other features. UW Restricted.

BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE
Covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics. UW Restricted.

CERAMIC ABSTRACTS/WORLD CERAMIC ABSTRACTS
Major areas of coverage include: whitewares, technical ceramics, building ceramics, refractories, glass, vitreous/porcelain enamels, ceramics processing and treatment, Updated monthly. Covers 1975 to the present. UW Restricted.

CHEMnetBASE
Provides electronic access to several major Chapman & Hall/CRC Press chemical reference books, including the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics.
UW Restricted.

CIVIL ENGINEERING ABSTRACTS
Civil Engineering Abstracts provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the serials literature in civil engineering and its complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation. Covers 1966-current. UW Restricted.

COMMUNITY OF SCIENCE
Diversified Web site offers an assortment of databases and online information in science and technology. Some of the highlights are: U.S. patents database, COS funding opportunities database, COS Expertise (60,000 first-person profiles of researchers at universities, government agencies and other research & development groups.) UW Restricted.

COMPENDEX
Now part of Engineering Village 2 (listed below), Compendex provides comprehensive and interdisciplinary coverage of the world's literature in every field of engineering. Indexes over 4500 journals, as well as conferences, government reports, and books. Covers 1884 to the present. Updated weekly. It is now possible to combine the Compendex and Inspec (see listing below) databases in one search. Choose the combined databases from the "Select Database" menu. UW Restricted.

COMPOSITES INDUSTRY ABSTRACTS
Composites Industry Abstracts focuses on polymers and ceramics reinforced with fibers, honeycombs, whiskers and laminates. This database, centralizing information on composite materials, is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database. Coverage includes 1986-current. UW Restricted.

COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SYSTEMS ABSTRACTS
This database provides a comprehensive monthly update on the latest theoretical research and practical applications around the world.It provides international coverage with the monitoring of over 3,000 serial titles as well as numerous non-serial publications.1981-current. UW Restricted.

COPPER DATA CENTER DATABASE
The Copper Data Center Database provides access to the world's literature on copper, copper alloys and copper technology. Converage includes approximately 1965-current. The oldest record in the database has a publication date of 1905; about 50% of its records have publication dates of 1983 or later. UW Restricted.

CORROSION ABSTRACTS
Provides indexing and abstracting in the areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventive measures, materials construction and performance, and equipment for many industries. Coverage includes approximately 1980-current. The oldest record in the database has a publication date of 1950; about 50% of its records have publication dates of 1994 or later. UW Restricted.

CURRENT CONTENTS CONNECT
Provides access to the tables of contents of over 7,000 current issues of leading scholarly research journals, plus indexing of over 1,700 books. Cover-to-cover indexing of journal articles, reviews, meeting abstracts, editorials, etc., is provided for each of the journals covered. Covers 1998 to the present. Updated weekly. UW Restricted.

CURRENT INDEX TO STATISTICS
CIS Extended Database. Indexes the literature of pure and applied statistics. Covers the 1940s to the present. UW Restricted.

DIESELNET
Enhanced access to this online information service on clean diesel engines and diesel emissions.

DISSERTATION ABSTRACTS
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. UW Restricted.

DOE INFORMATION BRIDGE
The Department of Energy database containing full text for Department of Energy (DOE) sponsored scientific and technical reports back to the early 1990s.

EARTHQUAKE ENGINEERING ABSTRACTS
Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (EEA) provides comprehensive authoritative coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. EEA is currently comprised of approximately 102,000 records (full citations and abstracts) from 1971 forward, plus several hundred earlier classic papers and reports. EEA also includes abstracts of research monographs and technical reports including Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports and Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center Reports.UW Restricted.

ELECTRONICS AND COMMUNICATIONS ABSTRACTS
Major areas of coverage include circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, telecommunications equipment and instrumentation, power systems, electronics and communications milieux.1981-current. UW Restricted.

ENERGY CITATIONS DATABASE (1948 – Present) contains citations to reports published by the DOE and it's preceding agencies, ERDA and AEC, from 1948.

ENGINEERED MATERIALS ABSTRACTS
Indexes the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics, and composites from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books. Updated monthly. Covers 1986 to the current. UW Restricted.

ENGINEERED MATERIALS ABSTRACTS, CERAMICS
Ceramics Subfile captures worldwide information about ceramics -- increasingly becoming the material of choice for high temperature applications, erosive environments, biomedical applications, and other areas where their hardness and corrosion resistance are needed. This database is a subset of the Engineered Materials Abstracts database.Coverage includes 1986-current. UW Restricted.

ENGINEERING VILLAGE 2
Includes Compendex and Inspec for journal abstracts and links to full-text, Website abstracts for evaluated Web sites; US Patent Office for patent information, CRC Press handbooks for technical engineering information, and Industry Specs and Standards from Techstreet standards. Compendex and Inspec may be searched separately or combined.UW Restricted.

ENGnetBASE ENGINEERING HANDBOOKS ONLINE
Provides full-text access to engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.UW Restricted.

ENVIRONMENTAL ENGINEERING ABSTRACTS
Provides citations and abstracts to the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. 1990-current. UW Restricted.

ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT STATEMENT (EIS) DATABASE
Database of environmental impact statements available in the UW Libraries. The publications included in this database do not appear in the UW Libraries Catalog. Additional EIS’s are listed in the UW Libraries Catalog and NTIS.

ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES AND POLLUTION MANAGEMENT
This multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Coverage from 1967-current. UW Restricted.

ESERVER TECHNICAL COMMUNICATION LIBRARY
A comprehensive portal to online resources in professional, scientific, and technical communication.

EXPANDED ACADEMIC ASAP
Indexes and abstracts approximately 1500 scholarly and general interest periodicals, covering major fields of study in the sciences & technology, social sciences, and humanities. Includes subjects such as communications, computer science, engineering, and environmental studies. Covers 1980 to the present. Updated monthly. Campus network. UW Restricted.

GEOBASE
An index to the international literature of geography, ecology, earth science and marine science. Current coverage includes articles from 3000 journals as well as books, maps, etc. Covers from 1980 to the present, updated quarterly. UW Restricted.

GEOREF
Geology and geophysics. Indexes over 3500 journals along with books, book chapters, conference papers, government publications, maps, theses, and other documents. Covers 1785 to the present (North American materials); 1933 to the present (world-wide materials). Updated quarterly. UW Restricted.

HISTORY OF SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND MEDICINE
Describes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields; covers 1975 to the present. UW Restricted.

IEEE Xplore - IEEE/IEE ELECTRONIC LIBRARY ONLINE
The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online (IEL) through the IEEE Xplore interface puts publications from the IEEE and the IEE at your fingertips. IEL Online helps you locate journal articles, conference papers, and technical standards from 1988 to the present, and select content back to 1950. More than 12,000 publications containing over 450,000 articles are just a few clicks away. Quickly find background, challenge hypotheses, validate assumptions, and generate ideas as you develop new knowledge about technology. Note: Please LOG OUT when you are done. UW Restricted.

ILI STANDARDS INFOWEB SEARCH
The ILI standards database covers 400,000 worldwide standards. Coverage extends across the industrialised world. Information given includes the Number, Title, Version, Summary, International Equivalents, Table of Contents and more. Included are the relevant EU Directives listing the standards required to attain the CE Mark. Over 250 Standards issuing authorities are covered including all the major ones around the world. UW Restricted.

INDEX TO SCIENTIFIC & TECHNICAL PROCEEDINGS (ISTP)
Indexes the papers from over 3000 conference proceedings published each year. Covers 1991 to the present. CD-ROM Network. UW Restricted.

INSPEC
Physics, electrical engineering and electronics, and computer science and engineering. Also covers many areas of the physical and applied sciences, as well as information technology and control engineering. Indexes and abstracts articles from over 3000 journals, as well as technical reports, conference proceedings and other publications. Covers 1896 to the present. Updated weekly. Now part of Engineering Village 2 (listed above). It is now possible to combine the Inspec and Compendex (see listing above) databases in one search. Choose the combined databases from the "Select Database" menu. UW Restricted.

ISI JOURNAL CITATION REPORTS
Journal performance metrics, including impact factor. 1997-present. UW Restricted.

KNOVEL
Knovel provides online access to engineering and science reference handbooks, databases, and conference proceedings. UW Restricted.

LECTURE NOTES IN COMPUTER SCIENCE
Full-text LNCS conference proceedings, tutorials, surveys, ACM distinguished theses, and more. 1997-present. UW Restricted.

LEXIS-NEXIS
Web-based database system containing citations and full-text of thousands of legal documents, patents, newspapers, wire services, journal articles, and broadcast transcripts. UW Restricted at all times, from all terminals, to current UW faculty, students or staff use only.

MATERIALS BUSINESS FILE
Focuses on industry news, international trade data, government regulations and management issues related to the metals and materials industries. Major areas of coverage include: recycling, health and safety issues, alloy and material developments, energy, control and testing, machinery and industry news. Updated monthly. Covers 1985 to the present. UW Restricted.

MATERIALS RESEARCH DATABASE WITH METADEX
This database brings together in one place the majority of the leading materials science databases, with specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding and fabrication to end uses, corrosion, performance and recycling is covered in depth for all metals, alloys, polymers, ceramics, and composites. Coverage includes 1966-current. UW Restricted.

MATHSCINET
Mathematics literature and related subject areas. Includes Mathematical Reviews, 1940 to the present. UW Restricted.

MATWEB: The Online Materials Information Resource
Source to identify engineering materials based on property requirements. Comprehensive coverage of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, aluminum, magnesium, steel, titanium and zinc alloys, plus a growing list of ceramics and other metals.

MECHANICAL AND TRANSPORTATION ENGINEERING ABSTRACTS
Covers the literature in mechanical and transportation engineering and their complementary fields, including forensic engineering, management and marketing of engineering services, engineering education, theoretical mechanics and dynamics, and mathematics and computation.1966-current. UW Restricted.

METADEX
METADEX is a comprehensive source for information on metals and alloys: their properties, manufacturing, applications, and development. Major areas of coverage include: steel, microstructure, casting, coatings, heat treatment, metal matrix composites, nonferrous metals, corrosion, blast furnaces, and machining. Updated monthly. Covers 1966 to the present. UW Restricted.

METEOROLOGICAL AND GEOASTROPHYSICAL ABSTRACTS
Covers world literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and related environmental sciences.Covers 1974 to present. UW Restricted.

NASA TECHNICAL REPORTS SERVER (NTRS)
This database displays citation information from NASA's Scientific and Technical Information (STI) Program. Examples of NASA's STI include research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents, and preliminary data. These are not full-text documents, although links to online full-text are provided when available.

NETWORKED COMPUTER SCIENCE TECHNICAL REFERENCE LIBRARY (NCSTRL)
The Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library is an international collection of computer science research reports and papers made available for non-commercial use from a number of participating institutions (mostly Ph.D. granting universities) and archives.

NTIS
Quick Guide
NTIS is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information. Includes a broad range of engineering, technology, and scientific subjects: aeronautics & aerodynamics, chemistry, computer sciences, energy, environmental sciences, materials sciences, nuclear science, telecommunications and transportation. Updated biweekly. Covers 1964 to the present. UW Restricted.

OCLC WORLDCAT
Consists of over 30 million catalog records and holdings information for material owned by libraries around the world, including books, journals, maps, sound recordings and other media, etc.UW Restricted.

PAPERCHEM - PAPER VILLAGE 2
A database of the international journal literature for the pulp, paper, and paperboard industries and technologies, with coverage of such allied industries as packaging, chemicals, equipment, and the graphic arts. Covers 1967 to the present. Paper Village 2 also includes Website abstracts, and access to patents from the US Patent Office. UW Restricted.

PATENT DATABASES - USPTO WEB PATENT FULL-TEXT AND FULL-PAGE IMAGE DATABASES
Access to the US Issued Patent (PatFT) Database, a database of the full text content of US patents issued from January 1, 1976 to the most recent weekly issue date. Full-page images are also available from 1790 to the present. Follow the instructions about accessing the images. The full-text is only searchable back to 1976. This means that searching for patents via keyword will only retrieve patents issued since the 1970s. You can search all the way back to 1790 using the patent classification system or patent numbers. The Published Applications (AppFT) Database, a full-text and full-page image database of US patent applications published since March 15, 2001, is also available. More information about patent searching.

PGM DATABASE (Platinum Group Metals)
A collection of published data and internal Johnson Matthey data defining the physical properties and characteristics of platinum group metals and their alloys.

PsycINFO
The PsycINFO database indexes and abstracts articles from journals as well as dissertations, book chapters, books, technical reports, and other documents in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers 1872 to the present. Updated monthly. UW Restricted.

PUBMED
Covers more than 3,900 journals in biomedicine, including citations published in Index medicus, International nursing index, and Index to dental literature, from 1966 to the present. UW Restricted.

SAE TECHNICAL PAPER INDEX
Citations for Society of Automative Engineers (SAE) papers published since February 1998.

SAFARI TECH BOOKS ONLINE
Full-text technical reference books on topics such as networking, Java, Linux/Unix, Perl, .NET, desktop productivity, web development and more from O'Reilly and other publishers of IT books. UW Restricted.

SCIENCE CITATION INDEX (SCI)
Worldwide research literature in the sciences. Used primarily for cited author (determining who has cited an author's previous works) & cited reference (determine who has cited a previous work and where) searching. Covers 3300 major journals across 100 scientific disciplines, indexing every article & significant item (including letters, notes, editorials). Covers 1975 to the present. UW Restricted.

SCIFINDER SCHOLAR- WEB VERSION
There are now 2 different ways to access SciFinder scholar-the traditional Client and Web.The Web version is new and does not yet have all of the newer features of the client. It does have the advantages of not having to download a client or worry about Mac and PC issues. It has one feature which was not available on the client-the 'keep me posted' or update feature. Both Client and Web versions are available to all valid users.
Registered users click to begin session.

You must register to use web Scifinder. Please note-you will also need to use a valid UW email address. CAS will send an email reply which you must answer within 48 hours.

For more information and questions: UW Chemistry Library. UW Restricted.

SOLID STATE AND SUPERCONDUCTIVITY ABSTRACTS
Provides citations and abstracts to the global literature concerning all aspects of theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices, as well as high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology. Topics covered include phase, crystal, and mechanical properties of solids, optical and dielectric properties, conductive and magnetic properties, exotic electronic structure and energy gaps, SQUIDs, impurity effects, flux structures and critical current, ceramics, and twinning phenomena. 1981-current. UW Restricted.

SPIE DIGITAL LIBRARY
The SPIE Digital Library encompasses the content of the journals (Optical Engineering, Journal of Electronic Imaging, Journal of Biomedical Optics, Journal of Microlithography, Microfabrication and Microsystems) and proceedings of the International Society for Optical Engineering. The content is primarly in the areas of optics, photonics, optoelectronics and imaging and is relevant to researchers in biomedicine, defense and security, nanotechnology, computing, astronomy, environmental monitoring, sensors, communications, and many other fields. Full-text is available since 1998, citations and abstracts since 1995. UW Restricted.

SPIE's INCITE DATABASE
This database contains references to International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE) papers.

STANDARDS DATABASE
This searchable database is a complete listing of industry standards held at the UW Engineering Library.

SYNTHESIS DIGITAL LIBRARY OF ENGINEERING AND COMPUTER SCIENCE
An online collection of 80- to 120- page "lectures" on various topics in Engineering and Computer Science written by experts in the field.

TECHNOLOGY RESEARCH DATABASE
This comprehensive database provides a single acccess point for all the unique records available through its component databases: the Materials Research Database with METADEX, High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the Engineering Research Database. The database content represents the most comprehensive and current coverage of the relevant serial and non-serial literature available.(1962-current.) UW Restricted.

THOMASNET
Freely search information about industrial products and services in the following categories:

ThomasNet also offers an Industrial Market Trends (IMT) blog and newsletter that offers insight to industry’s hot topics, latest developments, best practices, market trends and opinions of our readers giving students a look at the real-world; an active forum community; and product news.

TRANSPORT
Combines the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) database, the International Road Research Documentation (IRRD) database from OECD, and the European TRANSDOC database. Also includes records from the International Union of Railways (UIC). Covers all surface transportation modes, air transport, highway research, highway safety, and transportation economics. 1988 to present, plus older material. UW Restricted.

UNITED STATES TRADEMARK ELECTRONIC SEARCH SYSTEM (TESS)
The U.S. Patent & Trademark Office TESS database contains more than 2.9 million pending, registered and dead federal trademarks. Click on "Search" under "Get a Trademark Registration..." or visit the USPTO's Trademark Electronic Business Center (EBC). Updates scheduled daily on Tuesdays through Saturdays.

UW LIBRARIES CATALOG
The catalog contains over 1.9 million titles held by more than 20 branches of the UW Libraries.

WATER RESOURCES ABSTRACTS
Now included in: ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCES AND POLLUTION MANAGEMENT
UW Restricted.

WEB OF SCIENCE CITATION DATABASES
Includes Science Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED), 1975-present; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), 1975-present; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975-present. Provides access to the Science citation index expanded, Social sciences citation index and Arts & humanities citation index; database coverage: 1975-present. UW Restricted.

WELDASEARCH
Weldasearch is a comprehensive database containing abstracts to journal articles, research reports, books, standards, patents, theses and special publications in the areas of joining metals, plastics and ceramics, metal and ceramic spraying, thermal cutting, brazing, soldering and related topics. Updated monthly. Covers 1967 to the present. UW Restricted.

A / B / C / D / E / F / G / H / I / J / K / L / M / N / O / P / Q / R / S / T / U / V / W / X / Y / Z /


Additional electronic databases and resources covering a variety of topics are available in other libraries on campus. Consult the UW Libraries Databases Page for a complete list.


UW Restricted. databases are licensed for use by current UW faculty, student, and staff only. If you are current faculty, student, or staff and are having difficulty connecting to these databases from your home or office, please email us for assistance.


COMPUTER USE POLICY IS POSTED IN REFERENCE AREA. PRIORITY USE PROVIDED TO UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON STUDENTS, FACULTY, AND STAFF.
Review the Usage Guidelines for using UW Libraries electronic databases!


Engineering Library Home

Search:

Questions or comments?
e-mail the Engineering Library:
englib@u.washington.edu
Last modified: Wednesday August 06, 2008