Notes from the Da Lat Archives on Trung Viet
For those who may be contemplating studies on the history of
central Vietnam, certainly the least-studied region among foreign scholars, I can not say enough good things about this
archives. Its situated in Tran Le Xuan's former villa complex, and the staff are fast,
courteous and very helpful. Most important are the collections housed there:
Researchers can scan through the following "muc luc" of their collections, possibly more:
Nguyen-era Han-Nom records
RSA - Resident Superieure de l'Annam
(1880s-1945) - a smorgasbord of reports, letters, etc. similar to colonial
records elsewhere in Vietnam
RSA/RP - Rapports Politiques de l'Resident
Superieure de l'Annam
(1880s-1945) - very broad overviews of "situations" economic and
political, typically annual reports to the Gov General in Hanoi
Phủ Thủ Hiến Trung Việt (1947-1954) - great sources on the struggle
between French, pro-French Vietnamese & Viet Minh forces in central VN
Toà Đại Biểu Chánh Phủ Tại Trung Nguyên Trung
Phần (1954-1969) - to me one of the most
interesting collections. includes a lot of reporting
on major post-54 events in central provinces, esp. Hue.
I do not know of any computer terminals for searching records of the RSA or
these other collections in Da Lat, but one can search
RSA records at Archives #2 using their database in the reading room, a
welcome improvement in speeding up research.
Finally, while a/c has been introduced to the other three archive centers,
archives #4 is in Da Lat where its cool naturally! The city's serviced by flights
daily from Ha Noi and HCMC as well as Danang. Still requires the initial visit to present thu gioi
thieu, but after that its smooth sailing.
Hopefully the opening of Archives Ctr #4 will
encourage more researchers to study this fascinating but poorly researched
region.
Cheers,
David Biggs
UC Riverside / Hue