Foster Business Library
Databases:
See all thirteen volumes of the Business Plans Handbook.
Web Resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the
List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases
from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources
may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more
information on Foster business databases, click Databases,
A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
This slim volume offers nine examples of business plans for businesses that sell products, including a
computer
manufacturer, a newsletter, a student guide, a baby food company, a greeting card manufacturer, a
childrens book marketer, a cookie producer, a latex glove importer and a used compact disk store.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.28 .C627 1995.
This matching volume to the one above is focused on businesses that provide services, with nine example
business plans for a small executive aviation company, a Mexican restaurant, a English language tutoring
service, an upscale pool hall, a fitness club for those over forty, a lunch delivery business, an export
assistance firm, a toner cartridge recycler, and a tax accounting company.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.28 .C627 1995.
Foster
Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
Try searching under Subjects--Library of Congress, such as those below, or
searching by Keyword, limiting the results of your search to the Foster Business Library location:
Some examples of titles in the Foster Business Library:
Foster Business Library Article Databases:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A basic search in this database for Business Plans produced over 65,000 articles. A narrower subject search for SUB(Business Plans) produced over 3,700 articles.
Try combining subjects to narrow the results of your searches, such as:
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed
most of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk
will be happy to help find information about any business topic.
The telephone number for the reference desk is (206) 543-8012.
Questions are also welcome via e-mail to balib@u.washington.edu.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Company and Industry.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
ProQuest Databases: