![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
A search in this database for Consumer Behavior produced more than 600 references.
A search in Viewswires for Consumer Behaviour (this is a British database) produced over 75 articles.
See Consumer Behavior, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance. See also Consumer Psychology in the Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology.
Searching in business and economics journals for Consumer Behavior produced more than 200 articles, searching for this term in full text; searching for this term in abstracts cut the list to 176 articles.
A search for the keywords Consumer Behavior produced a list of over 6,200 citations.
A search in this database for Consumer Behavior produced over fifty references.
A search in this database for Consumer Behavior produced more than 1,200 references.
CD-ROM databases:
Web resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the term Consumer Behavior retrieved over 470 records in the UW Libraries, including more than 200 records in the Foster Business Library, including:
Other relevant subjects suggested by these searches include (with results limited to the Foster Business Library's
collections):
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
Relevant selected titles include:
In addition to
hard copy periodicals, the Foster
Business Library also offers links to many Electronic Journals in business
and economics. Most of these electronic journals are UW Restricted and may be limited in some cases to
the last six months or to shorter time spans.
Click here for a list of the UW Libraries' electronic journals in marketing.
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A topic search for Consumer Behavior produced a list of more than 35,000 articles, with links to over 380 associated narrowing terms. Examples include:
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open.
The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject.
For more in-depth assistance, see the Team
Librarian Consultation Archives.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Marketing and Advertising.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
MKTG 450 (Professor Yalch)
Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
This paperback covers how consumers use their leisure time, key players in the entertainment, media, and advertising industries, with profiles of major companies in each industry as well as rankings. There are also chapters on branding, including top brands; on direct marketing and outdoor advertising; on sponsorships and licensing, including sports, plus naming rights; on entertainment marketing, on television and TV advertising and programming; on TV stations, cable, pay per view, satellite, video on demand, film and video, film studios, recorded music, radio, satellite and internet radio, and print media; sports; and a series of chapters on the demographics of various markets, from children to seniors, ethnic markets, gay and lesbian, and faith-based media.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: GV174 .E58 2007.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; companion volume
to European marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA42 .I56 2003.
Information about many industries as well as demographic and marketing information;
check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information. See index page 978 for many tables about consumers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 2006.
This annual reference work provides extensive data on U.S. states, counties, and cities in a wide variety of categories, including population, households, vital statistics, health, crime, education, labor force and employment, trade, federal funds, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .C68 2002.
This thick paperback provides up-to-date demographic information, by zip code, for every residential and non-residential zip code location in the U.S., with population, households, ethnicity, age, income, spending potential on financial services, home, entertainment, and personal, dominant lifestyle segmentation, business data including number of businesses and dominant industry, forecasts, etc. See Washington state on pages 348-A to 354-C; for Seattle,
see zip codes 98001 to 99403 on pages 506 to 508, and pages 653 to 655.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .S66 (Annual)
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for European countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA1107 .E87 2003.
Using data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this volume indicates who the best and biggest customers are, for 300 specific products and services, with an analysis of household spending by age, income, race, region, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .C6 .B45 2006.
Population, employment, earnings, personal and household income and retail sales data and projections for the years 1970, 1980, 1990, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2010, 2015, 2020 and 2025 for states, regions and metropolitan areas. Data includes white, black, other, and hispanic populations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.8 .M77 (Annual)
This paperback is arranged alphabetically by marketing topic, with short definitions of each topic (one to several paragraphs long). See pages 27 to 36 for Consumer Attitudes, Consumer Buyer Behavior, Consumer Decision-Making Process, Consumer Learning, Consumer Marketing, and more.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 (volume 4).
This five-volume reference work includes 900
essays by scholars, arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of
business ethics. See entries for Consumer Fraud, Consumer Goods, Consumer Preferences, and Consumer Rights, in volume one.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for people, races, households, and businesses, for U.S. states, cities, and counties, with consumer and buying power data. Also included is retail sales and employment data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3007 .S96 (Annual)
(See also Demographics USA: zip edition, call number HF5415.3 .D463)
Annual two-volume compilation of market share data on companies, products and
services, both U.S. and international, arranged by SIC code and with indexes by product, company and topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 (Annual)
This volume includes twelve-page essays on about five dozen topics, under such headings as marketing management, the
marketing mix, marketing in practice, and special topics. See Consumer Behaviour on pages 670 and 671.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5412 .I32 1999.
This handbook consists of twenty-one essays on marketing and society, marketing strategy, marketing activities (such as branding and product development, sales force management and compensation, and marketing communications, marketing management, and special topics (including global marketing, and marketing and the internet). See index pages 569 and 570 for many references to consumers.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415 .H18665 2002.
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for both people and businesses, for U.S. zip codes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .D463 (Annual)
(See also Demographics USA: county edition, call number HF3007 .S96)
Consumer trends, marketing information, and federal, state and local sources of marketing information, plus articles on these topics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .F69 1998.
Volume three presents 941 scales culled from articles, on marketing scales in consumer behavior, published in the top marketing journals between 1994 and 1997; volume four provides all new or new uses of previously developed scales in consumer behavior and advertising that appeared between 1998 and 2001, with 654 scales. These volumes include two indexes, by author and by publication.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .B785 volumes 2001, 2005.
Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle
information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their
time and money and how to reach them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 (Annual)
This volume collects marketing research data from over 1,000 market research reports on a very wide
variety of topics, including advertising and marketing, age groups, demographics, apparel, spending,
entertainment, food and beverages, health, internet, sports, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R47 2006.
This small paperback is subtitled "hundreds of tools, techniques, and scripts for handling any situation," covering the basics of customer service and how to deal with sixty specific customer situations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.5 .B23 2005.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of 800 periodicals, arranged
alphabetically by title, at the west end of the library. A list of the titles in this collection is
available on the Foster homepage under Business Research; look for Periodical
Lists and click on
Periodicals in the Foster Business Library. Use Control-F to locate titles in the periodicals
collection with the words Marketing, Consumer, or Advertising in the title—or click here.
Foster Business Library Articles:
ProQuest Databases: