![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See their 35 reports on the topic Corporate Governance.
A search in this database for Corporate Governance produced over 1,400 references, from a wide variety of sources.
An advanced search, in business journals, for Corporate Governance, produced a list of more than 1,600 articles.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
General:
Centers & Institutes:
See also:
Associations:
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Corporate Governance produced a list of over 460 records in the UW Libraries, including over 160 records in the Foster Business Library. Selected examples include:
A search for the subject Corporate Governance produced a list of over 380 records in the UW Libraries, including over 140 records in the Foster Business Library.
Related subjects, and Foster Business Library holdings, include:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand
annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are
filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection.
For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
Use the list of companies to find annual reports for companies accused of violations of corporate governance.
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
Go to Topics Guide and to the A to Z list of topics to find
SUB(Corporate Governance), including over 3,800 articles in scholarly journals, over 1,000 articles in magazines, over 6,900 articles in trade publications, and over 8,000 newspaper articles.
These large article sets may be made smaller by combining the subject with another subject, a company name, a personal name, etc., as in SUB(Corporate Governance) and SUB(Fraud) or SUB(Corporate Governance) and NA(Wayne Andreas) or SUB(Corporate Governance) and CO(Archer Daniels Midland Co ).
Some examples include:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Company and Industry.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.
This large heavily-illustrated, map-rich paperback covers the foundations of globalization, the history of multinational corporations, global corporations by industry, the impacts of multinational corporations on employment and wages, taxes, technology, capital, culture, environment, and standards, and the governance of multinational corporations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G1046 .Q1 .G3 2003.
This one-volume offers 500 essays (500 to 1,000 words in length) from 180 authorities on
current knowledge and thinking
about the key concepts of
organizational behavior. See Corporate Governance on pages 56 to 58.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995 v. 2.
Arranged alphabetically by topic from Accounting Ethics to Worker Safety, with an
extensive
index at the back of this 700-page book. Each of about 300 topics in business ethics is explained in a
page or two, with a bibliography at the end of every topic. See Corporate Governance on pages 147 to 148.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 1995, v. 11.
This
one-volume covers 348 management topics, arranged alphabetically from Activity-Based Costing to
Zero-Sum Game.
See Corporate Governance on pages 150 to 152 and Boards of Directors on pages 49 to 53.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .E49 2000.
This 2,200-page single volume is "designed to offer a wide range of insights, information, and practical guidance on every aspect of management" via 2.5 million words of text from 200 contributors, with 700 illustrations and 150 maps, in seven major sections including best practice, a management library, business thinkers and management giants, a business dictionary, a world business almanac, and a guide to business sources. See Boardroom Roles, on pages 220 to 221, and Governing the Corporation, on pages 239 to 240.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD38.15 .B878 2002.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics. See Corporate Governance in volume one, pages 471 to 480.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
This textbook on financial management and corporate finance is aimed at MBA students. See chapter one, on pages 3 to 15, on Financial Management and Corporate Governance, and in particular, section 1-17 on Corporate Governance.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4026 .B73 2003.
This handbook covers hedge funds, commodity and managed futures, private equity, credit derivatives, and corporate governance. See section five, for Corporate Governance as an Alternative Investment Strategy, on pages 469 to 487.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4530 .A57 2002.
This major reference work covers the stock market bubble and Enron, full disclosure and accountants, corporate governance, and recovery and reform.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HV6769 .M37 2006.
This annual publication, published by Transparency International, usually focuses, each year, on a theme, such as corruption and health in the 2006 issue, with reports on this issue in many countries in part one. Part two consists of country reports from nations with corruption problems, with over forty countries included in the 2006 issue (including the U.S.).
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: JF1081 .G56 2006.
This CCH publication covers all aspects of corporate governance as it relates to directors, including registration-related and fraud liabilities, shareholder actions, corporate reports and proxies, takeovers and tender offers, S.E.C. enforcement, insider ownership, insider sales, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1423 .Z9 .R47 2002-2003.
This CCH paperback includes the full text of the act as well as its legislative history, additions and amendments, a topical index, and extensive explanatory sections.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1423 .Z9 .S27 2002.
This CCH publication offers guidance on current Form 8-K reporting, CEO/CFO certification of financial statements, and accelerated filing of financial statements, as influenced by Sarbanes-Oxley.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1446 .A37 .H36 2004.
This CCH paperback provides a detailed examination of the act and discussion of the "blizzard of SEC rulemaking" that filled in the legislative framework of the act, as well as a legislative history of the act and additional post-act legislation.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: KF1446 .H36 2003.
Foster Business
Library Corporate Annual Reports:
ProQuest Databases:
(See also the Seattle Times special report Dot-Con Job, for all the articles in this multi-part series)
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all of the hours that the library is open. The
staff at the desk will be happy to help you find business research tools and resources, exploit business databases to the fullest or advise on research strategies.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For
assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.