![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library
Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See Derivatives Continue Their Growth, International Finance and Derivatives, Derivatives Expand, and Crisis in Derivatives, in the 2002 A Financial History of the United States.
See also Derivatives, in the 2001 Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
A keyword search for Derivatives produced over four hundred reports.
An advanced search in this database for Derivatives, limited to titles and abstracts, in business journals, produced over eighty articles. As an example, see the 2004 article, from the Journal of Economic Perspectives, entitled Should We Fear Derivatives?
A search in this database for Derivatives produced over 1,700 references, from a wide variety of sources.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster
Business
Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See Financial Derivatives in volume two, on pages 911 to 914.
See Derivatives on pages ten and eleven.
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
This work includes chapters on treasuries securities, corporate fixed-income securities, municipal securities, and asset-backed securities, with market overviews, conventions, structure, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4521 .L637 2001.
See chapter twenty, starting on page 409, for Credit Derivatives.
See Derivatives on pages 12 and 13, page 253, and page 298.
See also these older titles on derivatives, in the reference collection:
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Derivatives, limited to the Foster Business Library, retrieved over ninety records.
A search for the subject Derivative Securities retrieved over two hundred records in the UW Libraries,
with over eighty records in the Foster Business Libraries' collections.
Foster Business Library titles from these searches include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
This database includes full text articles for
Derivatives Use, Trading & Regulation (2001- current, delayed 1 year),
Derivatives Week (Sep 8, 1997 (Volume 6, Issue 35) - current, delayed 28 days), the
Journal of Derivatives (Fall 1997 (Volume 5, Issue 1) - current, some exceptions, delayed 1 year), and the
Review of Derivatives Research (May 1999 (Volume 3, Issue 2) - current, delayed 1 year), as well as indexing and citations for a number of other derivatives-related publications (some with for full text for limited periods).
A subject search for
SUB(Derivatives) produced over 24,000 articles, including over 12,000 articles in scholarly journals, over 600 magazine articles, over 6,000 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 4,000 newspaper articles (as well as over sixty dissertations). Some of these citations were for medical rather than business-related derivatives.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.