All Business Databases & Catalogs
What do Library CD-ROM Network and UW restricted mean?
Library Catalogs:
- UW Libraries Catalog - Holdings of the books and
journals of the University of Washington Libraries, including Bothell and
Tacoma Campus Libraries. A separate catalog contains holdings for the UW
Law Library.
- Summit Catalog - Summit is a library catalog that combines information from over thirty Pacific Northwest academic libraries into a single unified database, with many of the materials available by request and ready to be sent to the Foster Business Library for pickup.
- OCLC WorldCat - OCLC WorldCat consists of over 30 million catalog records and holdings information for material owned by OCLC member libraries around the world. Cataloged materials include books, journals, maps, sound recordings, films, videotapes, manuscripts, and other items. UW restricted
List of All Business Databases:
- Access World News - Includes complete electronic editions of hundreds of large and small U.S. newspapers and titles worldwide. Features an intuitive, map-based interface and the ability to search single or multiple titles by headline, name, topic, keyword, date and author. UW restricted
- America History and Life - Index to journals and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. UW restricted
- Associations Unlimited - Database of national, state, regional and international trade and professional organizations and non-profit membership organizations. UW restricted
- Bloomberg - Detailed up-to-the-minute and historical stock, stock market and company financial data. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. Available only on PC #20
- Books In Print - An index of books, audios, and videos available from U.S. publishers; database on publishers, distributors, wholesalers, and book agents; full-text reviews; and inventory data from wholesalers.
UW restricted
- China Data Online -
Comprehensive database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases on China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.
UW restricted
- Comtrade - The Comtrade database is a product of the United Nations Statistics Division and is the most comprehensive source for world trade data: "Every year between 120 to 140 countries or areas report their merchandise trade statistics to the United Nations...[covering] as much as 95% of World trade. Each of these countries report the trade by commodity and trading partner." "Site license allows ... multiple users access. The access to UNComtrade is IP controlled. You can download an unlimited number of records. You have the two following technical restrictions: a) maximum six queries per minute b) download of no more than 150,000 records per query."
Please logoff after using.
UW restricted
- Conference Board, Business Knowledge Research - A searchable database of full-text research reports, published by the Conference Board, on the latest issues in business and economics. Economics material includes U.S. and global economic indicators and analysis, as well as forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
UW restricted
- Congressional Universe - The most comprehensive access to U.S. legislative information. Includes text of bills, laws and regulations and information about members of congress and congressional committees. UW restricted
- Datastream - Detailed U.S. and international securities and economic data. Available only on Tuesday mornings and Thursday afternoons, and only on PC #20. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff.
Available only in Foster Business Library
- EBSCO Business Source Complete - Full text of over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals. Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports. UW restricted
- EconLit - Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit is the fundamental research tool in economics. The database provides bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, to the international literature on economics since 1969. Econ Lit corresponds to the Journal of Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, covering journal articles, books, and dissertations, as well as articles in collective works, such as conference proceedings and collected essay volumes. UW restricted
- EIU Online - Produced by the Economist Intelligence Unit, this database provides their trademark Country Profiles, Country Reports, Country Commerce, and Viewswires for nearly 200 countries, regions and organizations, with both current and retrospective information. UW restricted
- Euromonitor - No longer available; replaced by MarketResearch.com Academic
- Europa World
- Political, social and economic information about countries. Includes country maps and a directory of political and business organizations in each country. UW restricted
- Expanded Academic ASAP - Provides indexing and abstracts for over 1,500 scholarly and popular humanities/social science journals. UW restricted
- Factiva - Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings.
Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. UW restricted
- Forrester Research - Provides reports on the effects of technology change on businesses, consumers, and society, and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking, telecommunications, and the Internet. UW restricted. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library - The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for five major business sources: the Business Plan Handbooks (in 12 volumes), the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002), and, since 2004 and volume 59, the International Directory of Company Histories. Go to History for the Gale Encyclopedia of U.S. Economic History (1999); go to Nation and World for Countries and Their Cultures (2001) and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies (2002). Go to Social Science for the Encyclopedia of Population (2003) and Social Trends and Indicators USA (2003).
UW restricted
- Gartner Research - Provides in-depth analysis and market intelligence for the information technology industry, covering the full range of products and technologies associated with computer hardware, software, communications products, financial services, electronic business, and healthcare application software worldwide. UW restricted
- Global Financial Data - This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. UW restricted
- Global Market Information Database - No longer available; replaced by MarketResearch.com Academic
- Historical Abstracts - Index to journals and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada. UW restricted
- Historical Statistics of the United States - A compilation of statistics from the colonial times to the present. Includes population, social, business and economic statistics. UW restricted
- Hoover's Online - Source for detailed company information, company histories, lists of competitors, financials and news, for both public and private companies. Also includes industry profiles and comparisons. UW restricted
- InfoTech Trends - Formerly called Computer Industry Forecasts. InfoTech Trends indexes statistics and forecasts published in computer and telecommunication trade publications. UW restricted
- International Financial Statistics Online - The International Monetary fund's International Financial Statistics database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments, inflation, deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates. UW restricted
- Investext - Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. UW restricted
- JSTOR - JSTOR is a subject searchable index of over 360 journals, with full-text backfiles of scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Among the collections of scholarly journals on this site are ones for Business and for Economics, encompassing over one hundred journals.
UW restricted
- Kompass - Directory information for 1.6 million companies in more than 70 countries, with indexes for company products and services, containing 23 million product and service references, and 500,000 trademarks and brand names. UW restricted.
- LexisNexis Academic - Full text for thousands of trade journals, newspapers, newswires, and business, legal, medical, and accounting services. Also contains corporate annual reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country data. UW restricted
- MarketResearch.com Academic - Market research reports covering many different industries and market sectors. UW restricted
- Mediamark Reporter - CD-ROM version of Mediamark Research, a tool for market research, with 2001 data ondemographics, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences based on survey responses from a sample of over 25,000 consumers in the United States. Mediamark Research is also available, in print, in the Foster Business Library reference collection, published in 1998. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. Available only in Foster Business Library; not available from off-campus.
- Mergent Online - Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on U.S. and international public companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
UW restricted
- MintGlobal - MintGlobal is a business and financial database from Bureau Van Dijk. The four parts are labelled "Companies", "News", "Market Research" and "Original Documents" in MintGlobal. The "Companies" section contains complete financial statement and balance sheet information going back 5 years from public companies throughout countries of the world. This section also provides brief information of some private companies worldwide. The "News" section contains full text articles from various sources such as Dow Jones, Financial Times, Reuters, and others. "Market Research" has full text market research reports of various industries from Datamonitor. "Original Documents" is made up of company annual reports and filings to the securities regulatory authorities of countries where the companies are headquartered geographically.UW restricted
- Morningstar Principia Pro - Online version of Morningstar Mutual Funds, an advisory service providing profiles and performance measures for selected mutual funds. Available only in Foster Business Library; not available from off-campus.
- National Newspapers - Part of ProQuest Databases, this database provides indexing and full text for 27 newspapers, among them the Atlanta Constitution and Atlanta Journal, Boston Globe, Chicago Tribune, Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post. ProQuest Databases will no longer be available
after the end of Spring Quarter 2008. UW restricted
- New York Times Historical - Part of ProQuest Databases, this database provides full page and article images with searchable full text, from September 18, 1851 through December 31, 2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. While ProQuest Databases will no longer be available
after the end of Spring Quarter 2008, this part of ProQuest will continue to be available. UW restricted
- NewsBank Infoweb - NewsBank Infoweb includes: Global NewsBank, a fulltext news database drawing from a variety of English language news sources around the world, mainly 1996 to present; NewsBank Newsfile Collection, a fulltext database of selected news stories from over 500 U.S. newspapers, 1991 to present; and AccessUN which provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. UW restricted
- Oxford Reference: Economics & Business - This database provides online searching and content for Oxford University Press's Dictionaries of Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance and Banking, Human Resource Management, and the Handbook of International Financial Terms. UW restricted
- ProQuest Dissertations - Index and abstracts to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from over 1,000 universities and colleges in the U.S. from 1861 to the present. Formerly known as Dissertation Abstracts; also known as ProQuest Digital Dissertations. While ProQuest Databases will no longer be available
after the end of Spring Quarter 2008, this subset of ProQuest will continue to be available. UW restricted
- PsycARTICLES - Provides full text access to articles in 43 journals published by American Psychological Association and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. More journals will be added in 2003. All journals in this database are indexed in PsycINFO. UW restricted
- PsycINFO - The PsycINFO database indexes articles from over 1,300 journals in the field of psychology including human and animal behavior, psychiatry and sociology, dating back to 1967. UW restricted
- Public Affairs Information Service (PAIS) - PAIS indexes articles from over 1,400 journals along with thousands of government documents, statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings and books in the broad field of public and social policy issues, dating back to 1980. UW restricted
- ReferenceUSA - Directory information for over fourteen million public and private companies in the U.S. and over 1.5 million companies in Canada, along with information about several hundred million U.S. residents. Companies can be searched for by name, business activity, size, location, etc. UW restricted
- RIA Checkpoint - Resource for accounting research. Use for finding text and explanation of federal and state tax laws. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. UW restricted
- Simmons Choices III - Online version of Simmons Study of Media and Markets, a tool for market research. Choices III provides marketing data that can be cross-tabulated to create demographic and psychographic profiles of consumers.
Available only in Foster Business Library; not available from off-campus.
- SimplyMap - This web-based mapping application enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Look at these tutorials for help on using SimplyMap. UW restricted
- Social Sciences Citation Index - Index to cited and citing references in journals in the social sciences. UW restricted
- Sociological Abstracts - The Sociological Abstracts database contains abstracts of journal articles in the field of sociology and related social science disciplines from 2,300 journals published worldwide since 1974, plus enhanced citations for relevant dissertations since 1986, books, book reviews, and conference papers. UW restricted
- Source OECD - Online library of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development, with twenty OECD book collections by theme, including all of the organization's monographs and reports published since 1998; twenty OECD periodicals; some OECD reference titles; and the OECD databases. UW restricted
- Sports Business Research Network / SBRnet - Market research and industry news covering all aspects of the sporting goods industry including: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing. UW restricted
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
- Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports. UW
restricted
- STAT-USA - No longer available; cancelled in March 2008. Country Commercial Guides may be found by going to the U.S. Embassy website in a country and then to the U.S. Commercial Service.
- Statistical Universe - Index to statistics published in commercial, international and U.S. government publications, with statistical tables in GIF and, in many cases, Microsoft Excel format. UW restricted
- ThomasNet - Web-based access to a directory of hundreds of thousands of products and services in the U.S. and Canada; online version of the print edition of the Thomas Register, available in the Foster Business Library reference collection, call number T12 .T62 2006.
- Ulrich's Periodicals Directory - Directory of over 240,000 serials, including consumer and trade magazines, academic and scholarly journals, monographic series, newsletters and newspapers, and other types of serial publications; good source for identifying periodicals by business topic as well as, in many cases, annual circulation data. UW restricted
- Value Line - No longer available; replaced by Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
- Vault Career Library - This database provides information and guides for over 3,000 companies, 40 industries, and over fifty career paths, including over ninety career guides, as well as employer profiles, articles, and advice on careers, resumes, and cover letters; and more. UW restricted
- VentureXpert Web - Database of venture capital and IPO data. Includes data on private equity placements and IPO activity. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. UW restricted
- Wall Street Journal Historical - This ProQuest database, covering the years 1889 through 1989, stores each page in PDF format, fully searchable by keyword. Content includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements. While ProQuest Databases will no longer be available
after the end of Spring Quarter 2008, this database will continue. UW restricted
- Washington State Newsstand - Part of ProQuest Databases, this database offers full-text coverage of 18 major Washington newspapers including the daily newspapers from Seattle, Tacoma, Spokane and Vancouver, plus selected coverage of other regional sources, among them the Puget Sound Business Journal, Seattle Post-Intelligencer, Seattle Times, Spokane Spokesman Review, Tacoma News Tribune, Vancouver Columbian. While ProQuest Databases will no longer be available
after the end of Spring Quarter 2008, access to these titles will continue. UW restricted
- World Bank GDF Online - Statistical data from the World Bank for over 200 debt and financial flows indicators for 138 countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank. Data is from 1970 to 2011, where available. Web version of the annual Global Development Finance. UW restricted
- World Bank WDI Online - Statistical data from the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data from 1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Web version of World Development Indicators.
UW restricted
- World Competitiveness Online - The World competitiveness yearbook analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. World competitiveness online provides access to the entire WCY database including 5 year time series. UW restricted
- World Telecommunication Indicators - International Telecommunication Union database of telecommunications data, country by country, with data from the Yearbook of Statistics and from the World Telecommunications Development Report. Part of the UW Libraries CD-ROM Network. UW restricted
For a selected list of business databases that the Foster Business Library does not offer, at this time, click here.
University of Washington Libraries
Foster Business Library
Electronic Resources
Contact Us
Last modified: Thursday July 17, 2008 (stevens)