Facilities:
- New library, opened in July 1997;
- Located in the basement of the Bank of America Executive Education Center, adjacent to Balmer Hall;
- Two floors and over 23,000 square feet of study space and library resources;
- First floor: entrance/exit, circulation, reserves, reference, general stacks, public computers, periodicals, newspapers, library lab, Business WritingCenter, seminar room, photocopiers, annual reports, and the majority of study seating;
- Second floor: eight group study rooms and more study seating;
- Ten collections of business library books and other materials;
- Seating for over 200;
- Most tables and carrels have laptop
ports and power connections;
- Wireless hubs on both floors of the library;
- Eight group study
rooms;
- Over fifty desktop computer workstations;
- Two self-service photocopiers;
- In-house Business Writing
Center:
- Self-service printer;
- Near the Balmer Café;
- Eighteen-terminal library library lab, with seating for 28;
- Library seminar room, with seating for 17.
|
Resources:
- Extensive Foster Business Library homepage;
- Over 46,000 business books;
- New business books added regularly;
- 6 million books on three U.W. campuses;
- Access to over 25 million books from 30 academic libraries in Washington and Oregon via Summit;
- Over 500 Business PhD and Masters dissertations;
- Over 50 business databases;
subject index to databases;
- Access to most of these databases from off-campus;
- Full text articles available online for 11,000 periodicals;
- Electronic journals in business and
economics;
- Subscriptions to over 300 business periodicals;
- Seven business newspapers on display;
- Annual reports for over 800 companies;
- Business sites on the Web;
- Reference collection dictionaries,
encyclopedias, handbooks;
- Bloomberg terminal;
- Access to numerous other UW Libraries' databases and
catalogs;
- Over 100 Business Research Guides;
- Team
consultation archives, with over 200 webpages on companies, industries, countries, etc.;
- Over 1,000 Frequently Asked Questions;
- Foster
Business Library, From A to Z.
|
People:
|