Foster Business Library


Investing Resources



Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
    Foster Databases  >>>  Web Resources  >>>  Reference Books  >>>  Books  >>>  Articles  >>>  Help

Foster Business Library Databases:

The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.

  • Bloomberg:   Bloomberg is an online database available only on a dedicated Bloomberg workstation, providing 24-hour current and historical financial quotes, commodity market and economic statistics, business newswires, and descriptive information, research and statistics on over 52,000 companies worldwide. In the Foster Business Library, the Bloomberg workstation is located in the Electronic Reference Area on Public PC #20; it may be identified by the red card on top of the monitor. Use of this workstation is limited to current University of Washington students, faculty and staff. A 17-page guide to using Bloomberg is available, adjacent to the workstation, in a black binder with Bloomberg on the spine. For more about Bloomberg, click here. For stocks, type in a company's ticker symbol, hit the yellow Equity key, and the green Go key.

  • Global Financial Data:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases.   This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.

  • Hoovers Online:   Under Business Databases on the Foster Business Library homepage. Hoovers Online offers information about 14,000 public and private companies worldwide, with links to company homepages and annual reports, charts, company capsule, competitors, divisions, earnings, financials, Fortune and Forbes rankings, history, industry information, insider trading, mission statements, news links, press releases, officers, patents, products, SEC filings, splits, subsidiaries, etc.

  • Lexis-Nexis Academic:   To find company information, go to Business and then to Company Financial where you can obtain financial and other data for companies. Information is available from twenty different sources (each of which must be searched separately). SEC filings, particularly company 10K annual reports, are a particularly rich source of company as well as industry information. Use your browser's Find command (or Control-F) to locate references to particular terms of interest in 10K filings such as trends, strategy, competitors, industry, etc. (This database is available widely on campus and may be accessed from home via the U.W. connectivity kit or via the Libraries' proxy server.)

  • Mergent Online:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases; click on Company and Industry.   Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000 international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc. For search tips, see About Mergent Online.

  • Investext:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Business Databases; also listed under Company and Industry. Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and industry research reports prepared by several hundred Wall Street, regional and international brokerage and financial firms. Over 11,000 companies are included in this database as well as over fifty industries. All reports are in PDF format.

  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:   On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases. This database provides online full text for the following S&P publications:   Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports. The Outlook is subtitled "intelligence for the individual investor" and is searchable, in this database, by company. Also available are daily and archived market and stock exchange snapshots, company stock information in S&P Stock Reports, lists of S&P's one to five star stocks, as well as high yield star stocks and income star stocks. Also available are Stovall's Sector Watch, Takeover Talk, Stock Picks and Pans, and a Focus Stock of the Week, along with information on various S&P indices. See also the menu tab for the Learning Center and the S&P Smart Investing Tutorial.

    CD-ROM database:

  • Morningstar Principia Pro:   Library CD-ROM Network.   Online version of Morningstar Mutual Funds, an advisory service providing profiles and performance measures for selected mutual funds. For more information on how to use this database, go to Morningstar's twenty-five Product Tutorials.
    Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
    (Also available in a web version to cardholders via the King County Library System)

    Web Resources:

    Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.

    Glossaries, Encyclopedias:

  • InvestorWords:   This site provides a good list of commonly used terms and jargon in investing, with over 6,000 terms in an A to Z arrangement.

    Government Agencies:

  • Consumer Information:   "The Federal Reserve, the central bank of the United States, was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system." Its website offers this Consumer Information section about many aspects of personal finance, including their Personal Financial Education section. See also, in this vein, the Building Wealth: a Beginner's Guide from the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas. For demographics of American investors, see the Federal Reserve's Survey of Consumer Finances.

  • Investor Information:   The United States Securities and Exchange Commission's Office of Investor Education and Assistance "provides a variety of services to address the problems and questions" faced by investors. Among other areas, the site offers Tips for Checking Out Brokers and Advisers and Laws That Govern the Securities Industry.

    Associations:

  • Financial Industry Regulatory Authority:   This organization is "the largest non-governmental regulator for all securities firms doing business in the United States. All told, FINRA oversees nearly 5,000 brokerage firms, about 172,000 branch offices and more than 676,000 registered securities representatives." See their Investor Information.

  • Investment Company Institute:   The Investment Company Institute "is the national association of the U.S. investment company industry. Founded in 1940, its membership includes approximately 8,668 mutual funds, 611 closed-end funds, 111 exchange-traded funds, and six sponsors of unit investment trusts. Its mutual fund members represent 86.6 million individual shareholders and manage approximately $7.4 trillion in investor assets." See their About Investing.

  • National Endowment for Financial Education:   Part of the endowment's Financial Literacy Resource Center is an investing section that offers information on courses and workshops, planning tools, multimedia, and a long list of printed materials.

  • Securities Industry Association:   "The Securities Industry Association (SIA) was established in 1972 through the merger of the Association of Stock Exchange Firms (1913) and the Investment Banker's Association (1912). The Securities Industry Association brings together the shared interests of more than 600 securities firms to accomplish common goals." See their Publications, Research/Statistics/Surveys, and Key Issues. Some of the resources at this site are limited to members of the association.

  • Securities Investor Protection Association:   "When a brokerage firm is closed due to bankruptcy or other financial difficulties and customer assets are missing, SIPC steps in as quickly as possible and, within certain limits, works to return customers' cash, stock and other securities. Without SIPC, investors at financially troubled brokerage firms might lose their securities or money forever or wait for years while their assets are tied up in court. Although not every investor is protected by SIPC, no fewer than 99 percent of persons who are eligible get their investments back from SIPC. From its creation by Congress in 1970 through December 2006, SIPC advanced $505 million in order to make possible the recovery of $15.7 billion in assets for an estimated 626,000 investors." See their Protecting Yourself Against Fraud.

    Commercial Sites:

  • Big Charts:   One of many websites with stock information, this site offers a ticker symbol lookup, stock charts, stock news, stock indexes, S.E.C. filings, annual reports, and more. Some information on the site is fee-based and use of the site generates popup ads.

  • InvestorGuide--Stocks:   This commercial site is a good source for a wealth of stock data, including company and industry research, initial public offerings, global stocks, stock trading, stock recommendations, and stock strategies.

  • GuruFocus.Com:   This "stock market insight" website tracks the investment directions of famous and successful investors, piggybacking stock picks from their choices. See their list of investment Gurus and Other Great Money Managers. Some features of this site require a paid membership.

  • Kiplinger Online:   This site offers personal finance and investment advice as well as general consumer and business news. A paid subscription also allows the user access to the various Kiplinger letters. The site also ranks stock and bond funds and provides stock quotes. Kiplinger Online also offers a page of calculators to help the user make decisions about home purchases, investments and loan rates.

  • Personal Finance (SmartMoney.Com)   This site also offers a wealth of information and resources on investing and on personal finance and investment advice as well as general consumer and business news. The UW Libraries does not subscribe to SmartMoney but does offer full text, online, via the Foster Business Library database Factiva. SmartMoney, however, offers access to its article Archives (scroll down this page to reach the archives).

  • Stockpickr.com:   Billing itself as the "stock idea network," this site links to the buying and portfolio selections of the rich, famous, and successful as a way of stock picking. See their list of the Most Viewed Portfolios. In addition to stocks, this site also tracks the performance of more than 700 mutual funds and hedge funds.

  • Yahoo! Finance:   This site is a good source for investment information about U.S. companies, with comparisons to the industries in which those companies compete.

    Media Sites:

  • Wall Street Probes (Special Report):   This Washington Post Special Report provides cautionary information for investors, as well as tips for investors from Eliot Spitzer and from the National Association of Securities Dealers.

    See also another Foster Business Library site:

    For more company financial, stock, and investment websites, go to the Foster Business Library's Business Resources on the Web and click on Company Financials, Stocks & Investments.

    Foster Business Library Reference Collection:

    The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.

  • The Irwin guide to using the Wall Street Journal.
    How to be your own economist, by using the Wall Street Journal (or so says this book's preface). See the Stock Market chapter on pages 155 to 221.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HB43 .L44 1996.

  • Standard & Poor's current statistics.
    Formerly known as the S & P Statistical Service (and still stored in the blue ring-binder with this title), this annual publication, with monthly supplements, provides data in the form of tables that cover a span of years and a wide variety of industries, economic indicators, stock exchange averages, GDP, foreign trade, money market measures, government debt, employment, cost of living indexes, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC101 .S7 (Monthly)

  • Dictionary of finance and investment terms.
    Published by Barrons, this small, thick paperback defines and explains over 4,000 finance and investment terms, including many related to bonds.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG151 .D69 1998.
    (Also available, to UW students, faculty and staff, online.)

  • Finance and investment handbook.
    Also published by Barrons, this one-volume reference work provides options for investment, information on how to read annual reports and financial pages, a dictionary of finance and investment terms, and a ready reference collection.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG173 .D69 2003.

  • Standard & Poor's guide to personal finance.
    This paperback covers all aspects of personal finance and financial planning. See chapter four, entitled Investing Insights, on pages 41 to 58, and chapter six, entitled Real World Investor Tips, on pages 67 to 81.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG179 .D697 2005.

  • The handbook of financial planning: an expert's guide for advisors and their clients.
    This guide includes all major topics in the area of personal finance, with text discussions and many examples, as well as charts, illustrations, exhibits and checklists.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG179 .S55 2004.

  • Mergent dividend record.
    This publication, in a current binder, provides weekly dividend records for over thirty major exchanges, with a cumulative issue, a mutual fund section, and a section on the tax status of dividends.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4028 .D5 .M65

  • Standard & Poor's dividend record.
    This periodical is issued weekly with monthly, quarterly, and annual cumulations (annual cumulations in March), for over 22,000 common and preferred stocks, mutual funds, REITs, limited partnerships, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4028 .D5 .S7a
    (Also available online in the database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)

  • Mergent equity research reports.
    This weekly publication, stored in two-volume green ring-binders, provides stock research reports for U.S. public companies, from Ford Equity Research, with buy, hold, and sell recommendations, price momentum ratings and charts, earnings summaries and charts, analyst forecast summaries and ratings, price performance charts, recent developments, and five-year charts for fiscal year fundamental data.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4028 .V3 .M47 (Weekly)
    (Not available in the database Mergent Online)

  • Stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation valuation edition yearbook.
    Also known as SBBI Valuation Yearbook, this annual publication from Ibbotson Associates, covers business valuation, the cost of capital, the buildup method for cost of equity capital, an overview of cost of equity capital models, the equity risk premium, beta estimation methodologies, firm size and return, the Fama-French three factor model, and international cost of capital. Not to be confused with the more popular SBBI Yearbook (see call number HG4905 .S75).
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4028 .V3 .S86 (Annual)

  • Nelson Information's directory of investment managers.
    This three-volume publication is an index to over 1,800 investment firms in the U.S. and abroad, that provide investment services to the institutional market, with extensive manager profiles, followed by indexes to the profiles (by metropolitan area, ranked by assets, investment specialties, products offered, investment funds and partnerships, and minority and women-owned firms.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4097 .N44 2004.

  • Mergent's handbook of common stocks.
    This quarterly publication provides quick, easy access to information on more than 900 stocks included in major indices, one page per company, with stock price charts, statistics, and analysis, recent developments and prospects, arranged alphabetically by company name. There are also charts for the Dow Jones Industrial Average and New York Stock Exchange activity during the quarter.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4501 .M59 (Quarterly)

  • The outlook (Standard and Poor's).
    This black ring-binder holds weekly issues of this twelve-page publication, oriented towards the stock market, with a weekly asset allocation recommendation, a paragraph entitled Looking Ahead, a narrative analysis of current stock market conditions, a listing of exceptionally attractive stocks, a review of market measures, and S&P's changes in analysts rankings for the past week, using a star system. There are also pages for recent upgrades, attractive low risk stocks, and questions and answers, portfolio planning and portfolio management, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4501 .O88.
    (Also available online in the database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)

  • The essential dictionary of investing & finance.
    This paperback, newly revised and updated, is billed as "an authoritative reference with over 7,500 entries."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4513 .R67 2004.

  • Wall Street words.
    This paperback, also newly revised and updated, is subtitled "an A to Z guide to investment terms for today's investor."
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4513 .S37 2003.

  • The Irwin guide to stocks, bonds, futures, and options.
    This fairly recent reference includes chapters on treasuries securities, corporate fixed-income securities, municipal securities, and asset-backed securities, with market overviews, conventions, structure, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4521 .L637 2001.

  • Emerging stock markets factbook.
    Standard & Poor published this paperback to emerging markets and to world stock markets, with rankings of these markets, market capitalization, indices and their performance, and index market profiles, by country, from Argentina to Zimbabwe, with other equity market profiles for smaller markets from Armenia to Zambia.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4551 .E43 2000.

  • International encyclopedia of the stock market.
    This two-volume work examines stock markets worldwide, with definitions of over 2,000 terms used in regional and world stock markets, with descriptions of the economies and stock markets of the world's major countries, as well as entries on persons, institutions, and slang used in these markets.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4551 .I529 1999.

  • World stock exchange fact book.
    This older, large paperback offers over twenty years of data on 45 global stock exchanges, with lists of constituent stocks, monthly stock index values, market capitalization, regulations, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4551 .W657 1998.

  • Stock exchange fact books.
    The reference collection includes a number of fact book for major stock exchanges, with information about members, growth rates, stock price trends, shareholders, international transactions, bonds, historical data, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4571 .N4 2001 (New York Stock Exchange)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4576 .I57 1999 (London Stock Exchange)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4596 .T64a 2002 (Tokyo Stock Exchange)

  • The Wall Street Journal guide to who's who and what's what on Wall Street.
    This book covers the major Wall Street investment firms, retail brokers, trading powerhouses, investment banks, banks, exchanges, and regulators active in the period around 1998.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4572 .W28 1998.

  • The securities industry yearbook.
    This annual publication provides rankings of securities firms and broker-dealers, tables about securities firms, a directory of members of the Securities Industry Association, industry and market statistics, major exchanges, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4621 .S44 2001/2002.

  • The international guide to securities market indices.
    This hefty volume provides a comprehensive overview of securities market indices, their use and application, their growth, construction and maintenance, historical highlights, and profiles of the indices for stocks, bonds, commodities and more.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4636 .S52 1996.

  • Encyclopedia of chart patterns.
    Aimed at those who wish to do technical analysis of stocks, this encyclopedia covers stock chart patterns, with an index to patterns starting on page 993, and focusing on over fifty chart patterns and ten event patterns. This 2,000-page volume also includes a statistics summary and a glossary.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4638 .B85 2005.

  • Standard & Poor's analyst's handbook.
    Published annually, this publication provides information on earnings, dividends, price and yields of industry sectors, the S&P 500 index companies, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4905 .A66

  • Stocks, bonds, bills, and inflation yearbook.
    Also known as the SBBI Yearbook, this annual publication from Ibbotson Associates, covers market results from 1926 to the end of the previous year, with historical bond return rates, government bonds, treasury bills, returns, etc.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4905 .S75 (Annual)

  • Standard & Poor's stock reports.
    Published monthly, this publication covers over 3,000 companies on the major U.S. stock exchanges, with two-page reports on each company.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4905 .S443 Pre-1998 (New York Stock Exchange)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4905 .S44 Pre-1998 (American Stock Exchange)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4905 .S444 Pre-1998 (NASDAQ and regional stock exchanges)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4905 .S72 1998- (Combined exchanges)
    (Also available online in the database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)

  • Nelson Information's directory of investment research.
    This three-volume publication is an index to investment research firms in the U.S. and abroad. Volume covers research firms, with indexes; volume two, U.S firms; volume three, international companies.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4907 .N43 1999.

  • Dow Jones Averages, 1885-1995.
    Along with a brief history of the Dow Jones Averages, this book provides daily data for stock sales and bond averages, with high, low, and closing quotes for three Dow Jones indexes.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4915 .D6434 1996.

  • Daily stock price record.
    This Standard & Poor's publication, issued quarterly, by exchange, covers major technical indicators and daily and weekly stock action, including high, low and closing prices and volume, arranged alphabetically by company name, with shares outstanding, and earnings and dividends.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4915 .I22 (American Stock Exchange)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4915 .I23 (New York Stock Exchange)
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4915 .I24 (NASDAQ)

  • Security owner's stock guide.
    This Standard & Poor's monthly publication provides financial data on more than 7,000 stocks as well as closed-end and mutual funds and variable annuity and life investments, for over two dozen exchanges in the U.S. and abroad, with stock price ranges for the previous year and long-term, the previous month's sales, high, low and last bids, dividend yield, P-E ratio, earnings per share growth, and total return.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4915 .S67 (Monthly)
    (Also available online in the database Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage)

  • Standard & Poor's stock market encyclopedia.
    This quarterly publication covers 750 stocks, with growth selections (stocks with five straight years of rising earnings), rapid growth stocks, high ranked stocks, contrarian selections, income selections (companies ranked by yield, stocks with fast rising dividends, and a statistical section (stock group performance, quarterly winners and losers, and low priced stocks with low price-earnings ratios and high rankings).
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4921 .S685 (Quarterly)

  • Stocks, bonds, options, futures.
    Published by the New York Institute of Finance, this second edition devotes separate chapters to fixed income securities (including bonds), U.S. treasury bonds, corporate bonds, and municipal bonds.
    Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG4921 .S7945 2001.

    Foster Business Library Books:

    The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.

    To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.

    If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.

    The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).

    A keyword search for Invest, limited to the Foster Business Library, retrieved a list of over thirty records, including:

    A subject search for Investments, limited to the Foster Business Library, retrieved a list of over 2,000 records, including:

    A subject search for Stocks, limited to the Foster Business Library, retrieved a list of over 400 records, including:

    A subject search for Finance, Personal retrieved over 400 records in the UW Libraries, with over 90 records in the Foster Business Library, including:

    See also Foster Business Library books on such subjects as:

    Foster Business Library Articles:

    Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.

    Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.

    ProQuest Databases:

    This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.

    Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.

    See the Topic Guide in this database for its subject list, which includes Investment (over 9,000 articles), Investment Advice (over 2,000 articles), Investment Advisors (over 27,000 articles), and Investment Analysis (over 800 articles). Each of these subject terms is also associated with narrowing subjects that allow you to focus your search and reduce the number of articles to more manageable levels. See the Topic List and subjects to access these subject and narrowing terms.

    A similar search in the Topic Guide for Stock produced over 3,000 articles; for Stock Brokers, over 9,000 articles; for Stock Exchanges, over 17,000 articles; for Stock Market, over 13,000 articles; for Stock Prices, over 118,000 articles.

    This database, with its articles sorted by date, is also a good source for up-to-date commentary on the stock market and investing. As an example, see:

    Help:
    5 August 2004; updated 16 April 2008.   Peter Stevens, Business Librarian, stevens@u.washington.edu

    Contact Us
    Last modified: Wednesday April 16, 2008 (stevens)