![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index.
For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access.
For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
CD-ROM databases:
Web resources:
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library
Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on
all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library.
Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for the term Marketing and limited to the Foster Business
Library, retrieved over 3,200 records, including over 60
electronic books or computer files.
A keyword search for the term Marketing Plan, limited to the Foster Business Library,
retrieved a list of over two dozen
records. Looking at these records shows that the subject term for Marketing Plans
is Marketing -- Planning.
A subject search for Marketing --
Planning produced a list of
thirty records in the UW Libraries, with twenty records in the Foster Business Library, including:
Other relevant subjects include (with results limited to the Foster Business Library's
collections):
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the
Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online,
24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of
spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations
and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street
Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO
Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest
NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full
text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals,
magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a
very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by
word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search
for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
The Foster Business Library Periodicals Collection includes subscriptions to the print editions of such marketing titles as:
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each
article. For tips on searching this database, see the Foster Business Library research guide About ProQuest.
This database includes such marketing titles as the Academy of Marketing Science Journal,
Advances in International Marketing,
Agri Marketing,
Applied Marketing Research,
Asia Pacific International Journal of Marketing,
Asia Pacific Journal of Marketing and Logistics, Bakery Production and Marketing,
Bank Marketing, Beauty Product Marketing, Business Marketing Digest, Coop Marketing & Management, Dentsu Japan
Marketing/Advertising Yearbook, Direct Marketing, European Journal of Marketing, Food Marketing, Health Marketing
Quarterly, High - Tech Marketing, Industrial Marketing & Purchasing, Industrial Marketing Management, Insurance
Marketing, International Journal of Bank Marketing, International Journal of Market
Research, and many more.
To view the subject terms assigned to Marketing in this database, go to the Topic Guide and search for this term. This search retrieves the subject terms Marketing, Marketing Agreements, Marketing Information Systems, Marketing Management, and Marketing Mixes. Each of these subject terms can then be narrowed by related terms. In the case of the subject Marketing, for instance, this database offers 363 narrowing terms, from Accounting Firms (over 470 articles) to World Wide Web (over 700 articles).
You can also limit your search in this database to articles in a specific publication,
about a specific topic. For instance, a search for College Students
and SO(American Demographics) retrieved a list of over fifty articles.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open.
The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject.
For more in-depth assistance, see the Team
Librarian Consultation Archives.
For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu.
For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Marketing and Advertising.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries,
products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation
archives.
Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
This oversized annual publication provides population, economic, and geographic data for over
129,000 places in the United States as well as information about the largest U.S. corporations
and state, county, and city data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G1046 .Q1 .R35 (in dictionary stand, adjacent
to the reference desk)
This paperback covers how consumers use their leisure time, key players in the entertainment, media, and advertising industries, with profiles of major companies in each industry as well as rankings. There are also chapters on branding, including top brands; on direct marketing and outdoor advertising; on sponsorships and licensing, including sports, plus naming rights; on entertainment marketing, on television and TV advertising and programming; on TV stations, cable, pay per view, satellite, video on demand, film and video, film studios, recorded music, radio, satellite and internet radio, and print media; sports; and a series of chapters on the demographics of various markets, from children to seniors, ethnic markets, gay and lesbian, and faith-based media.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: GV174 .E58 2007.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; companion volume
to European marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA42 .I56. 2003.
Information about many industries as well as demographic and marketing information;
check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are
often a valuable source of additional information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56
This annual reference work provides extensive data on U.S. states, counties, and cities in a
wide variety of categories, including population, households, vital statistics, health, crime,
education, labor force and employment, trade, federal funds, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .C68 2002.
This thick paperback provides up-to-date demographic information, by zip code, for every
residential and non-residential zip code location in the U.S., with population, households,
ethnicity, age, income, spending potential on financial services, home, entertainment,
and personal, dominant lifestyle segmentation, business data including number of
businesses and
dominant industry, forecasts, etc. See Washington state on pages 348-A to 354-C; for Seattle,
see zip codes 98001 to 99403 on pages 506 to 508, and pages 653 to 655.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA203 .S66 (Annual)
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade,
energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing
information for European countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA1107 .E87 2003.
Using data from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, this volume indicates who the best and biggest customers are, for 300 specific products and services, with an analysis of household spending by age, income, race, region, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC79 .C6 .B45 2006.
Population, employment, earnings, personal and household income and retail sales data and
projections for
the years 1970, 1980, 1990, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2010, 2015, 2020 and 2025 for
states,
regions and metropolitan areas. Data includes white, black, other, and hispanic populations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC106.8 .M77 (Annual)
This paperback is arranged alphabetically by marketing topic, with short definitions of each topic (one to several
paragraphs long).
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD30.15 .B455 (volume 4).
This multi-volume set is a compilation of over 200 actual business plans developed by
entrepreneurs seeking small
business funding. Business plans routinely include a marketing plan. See the Cumulative Index
in volume nine to
locate business plans by type of business.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD62.7 .B865 (New volumes issued regularly)
This five-volume reference work includes 900 essays by scholars,
arranged alphabetically by topic, on all aspects of business ethics. See Marketing Ethics in volume three, on pages 1336 to 1343.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5387 .E53 2008.
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for people, races, households, and businesses, for U.S. states, cities, and counties, with consumer and buying power data. Also included is retail sales and employment data.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3007 .S96 (Annual)
(See also Demographics USA: zip edition, call number HF5415.3 .D463)
This three-volume compendium provides a wealth of information on the markets for imported products in Japan, in considerable detail.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF3827 .M37 2004.
This publication provides information on geographic markets for cities with daily newspapers, with
demographic data and projections, with market rankings and U.S. and Canadian newspaper market
surveys. For local information, see Washington state newspapers on pages II-436 to II-444;
Washington state population,
age and ethnicity on pages III-102 to III-103; Washington state housing, income, and education on
pages IV-102 to IV-103; and Washington state retail sales on pages V-137 to V-138.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .E33 (Annual)
This two-volume annual compilation provides market share information on companies, brands, products and
services, arranged by SIC code, and with indexes by product, brand, company and
topic.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5410 .M35 (Annual)
This paperback provides an A to Z list of 4,000 markeing
communications terms and concepts, with definitions.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5412 .G68 2004.
This volume includes twelve-page essays on about five dozen topics, under such headings as marketing management, the
marketing mix, marketing in practice, and special topics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5412 .I32 1999.
This handbook consists of twenty-one essays on marketing and society, marketing strategy, marketing activities (such as branding and product development, sales force management and compensation, and special topics (including global marketing, and marketing and the internet).
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415 .H18665 2002.
This large volume provides an overview and projections for 400 significant industries and their component
products or services, arranged alphabetically by industry name. For each product or service, there is a
brief indication of the value of the U.S. market in 1998 and the compound U.S. market growth rate from
1993 to
1998 as well as a graph depicting market value in dollars and the growth rate. There is also a brief
analysis of the market sectors for the product or service and a description of the market segmentation by
volume for 1997, plus U.S. market share and market forecast information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.1 .U8 2001.
This volume covers the background, preparation, planning objectives, target markets, positioning, marketing strategy,
branding, pricing, distribution and other aspects of creating a marketing plan.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.13 .H52 1996.
This newer title, in its fifth edition, provides information about the marketing process, the
marketing audit, the communication and pricing plans, and marketing planning, as well as the
nuts and bolts of how to prepare and use a marketing plan.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.13 .M369183 2002.
An explanation of the marketing planning process.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.13 .S874 1997.
This spiral bound publication, by the New York chapter of the American Marketing Association, is an
international directory of marketing research firms and services, with an alphabetical listing and brief description
of companies, a yellow pages index by type of research, a research services index, an audiences/industries/markets
index, a computer software index, a trademarks/service index, a geographical/telephone index (with Washington state on
pages 641) and a principal personnel index.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .G69 (Annual)
Also available, in part, online.
This British paperback publication provides essays on the preparation of international market research surveys, data collection,
communications, advertising and media, analysis and modelling, and presentation of results.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .H284 2002.
This two-volume annual paperback is published by the Marketing Research Association. Volume one is arranged geographically by state and city, with profiles of marketing research companies; volume two is an index by market research specialty.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .M3557a 2003.
Also available online.
This seven volume paperback set provides an introduction to qualitative
market research, information on interviewing groups and individuals in
qualitative market
research, methods beyond interviewing in
qualitative market research, analysis and
interpretation in qualitative market research,
developing brands with qualitative market research,
developing advertising with qualitative market research, and
how to deliver results in qualitative market research.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .Q25 2002.
Consumer trends, marketing information, and federal, state and local sources of marketing information,
plus articles on these topics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.2 .F69 1998.
Volume three presents 941 scales culled from articles, on marketing scales in consumer behavior, published in the top marketing journals between 1994 and 1997; volume four provides all new or new uses of previously developed scales in consumer behavior and advertising that appeared between 1998 and 2001, with 654 scales. These volumes include two indexes, by author and by publication.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .B785 2001, 2005.
This large paperback provides in-depth demographics, for both people and businesses, for U.S. zip codes.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.3 .D463 (Annual)
(See also Demographics USA: county edition, call number HF3007 .S96)
Market analysis information including demographic, geographic and lifestyle
information to identify who customers are, where they live, how they spend their
time and money and how to reach them.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .L54 (Annual)
This volume collects marketing research data from over 1,000 market research reports on a very wide variety of topics, including advertising and marketing, age groups, demographics, apparel, spending, entertainment, food and beverages, health, internet, sports, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5415.33 .U6 .R47 2006.
This two-volume work reports paid advertising expenditures in major media
categories for companies and
brands in America.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5801 .A18 January-December 2001.
In three volumes, this heavily-illustrated encyclopedia includes profiles of more than 120 ad agencies worldwide, essays on 80 leading agencies, detailed articles on 40 U.S. agencies, biographies of 47 major advertising figures, as well as 160 significant corporate advertisers, brands, and campaigns, 20 essays on market research methods, and 52 essays on advertising tools and operations.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5803 .A28 2003.
This annual two-volume publication, also known as The Advertiser Red Book, is the most comprehensive source for information on the advertising practices of 24,000 U.S. and Canadian companies spending a minimum of $200,000 on national and regional advertising. Companies may be accessed by 54 business categories or by state, province or city. Entries for companies advertising include SIC codes, business descriptions, statistics, personnel, approximate advertising expenditures, and media. Entries for ad agencies often include the companies and brand names handled and the executive assigned to each account. Volume two includes indexes by product by state or province, by brand name, by SIC code and by personnel. There is also a geographic index volume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S7 (Annual) (volume 1:
businesses)
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S7 (Annual) (volume 2:
indexes)
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S7115 (Annual) (geographic
index)
This annual publication, also known as The Agency Red Book, is the most comprehensive directory of advertising agencies in the U.S. and Canada, including not just ad agencies but also house agencies, media buying services, sales promotion agencies, public relations firms, a personnel index and an index
to services and suppliers for specialized services to the advertising industry such as banners, binders, computer services, computer software, data processing, and voiceovers. In the front of this volume are lists and rankings of the top agencies by various industry categories. There is also a Special Market Index,
categorizing agencies by two dozen specialties including Asian market, health care, travel and tourism, etc. There is also a supplement to the annual volume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S78 (Annual)
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5805 .S782 (Annual) (supplement)
These publications provide media rates and data for the advertising industry, listing
advertising rates, editorial or programming content, circulation and other basic information
for a variety of advertising media, including radio, television, newspapers, and consumer
magazines, in separate volumes with different call numbers. Most volumes are organized by
state and by city, with demographic and market data for each state. For information on how to
use and interpret SRDS publications, click here for a 4-page PDF
guide from the libraries at Bowling Green State University. For the latest dates of these publications, see SRDS Publications.
SRDS out of home advertising source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5813 .U6 .O88.
SRDS radio advertising source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5904 .S74.
SRDS community publication advertising source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5905 .C65.
SRDS direct marketing list source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5905 .D54. (2 parts)
SRDS newspaper advertising source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5905 .S73.
SRDS business publication advertising source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5905 .S723. (3 parts)
SRDS consumer magazine advertising source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5905 .S725.
SRDS television & cable source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5905 .S745.
SRDS hispanic media & market source.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: P94.5 .H58 .H57.
SRDS circulation.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: PN4888 .C56 .S63.
This two-volume work reports and itemizes all paid advertising space and expenditures in ten
major media
categories for
companies and
brands in America, in several hundred consumer and Sunday magazines, in newspapers, outdoor
advertising, television,
and radio.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5813 .U6 .C68 2001.
This paperback is subtitled "a complete guide to advertising media selection, planning, research, and buying," with guidance on developing media objectives, terms, calculations and considerations, creating the plan, offering alternatives, making the media buys, and evaluating the media plan.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5826.5 .K38 2003.
This small paperback was formerly entitled Mediaweek's Guide to Media. It provides information on media trends, media rates, and demographics, for
Broadcast television, syndicated television, cable television, radio, and out-of-home media (such as billboards, outdoor advertising and posters), teens, promotion media, custom publishing, magazines, newspapers, Hispanic markets and media, and media and marketing software.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5826.5 .M45 2004.
This reference work covers over four thousand co-op advertising programs, in over fifty product classifications, with indexes by manufacturer, retailer program, wholesaler program, and by trademark.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5827.4 .C66 2007.
This massive two-volume illustrated reference work profiles nearly 1,000 notable advertising and marketing campaigns of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, covering television and print campaigns. Arrangement is by company name and, if the company name is that of a person, by their first name. For each campaign, there is an overview, historical content,
target market, competition, market strategy and outcome, as well as suggestions for further reading.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF5837 .E53 2000-2007.
In four volumes, this reference work provides information about television stations, with
market and ownership data for U.S. and Canadian stations, commercial and public, with
Nielsen rankings (in volumes one and two), about cable services and statistics (in volume
three), and about services (in volume four), with broadcast and other associations, labor
organizations, and market and audience research firms. Volume four also includes industry
charts, tables and statistics for television and cable.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: TK6555 .T26 2001.
This three-volume reference work provides information about 8,000 U.S. newspapers, including
ethnic
and foreign language newspapers (volume
one), 7,000 magazines and newsletters (volume two) and 14,500 television and radio
stations and cable networks (in volume three).
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: Z6951 .W6 2000.
ProQuest Databases: