![]() |
|
|
|
Database Description:
In the above example, you see the contents of the
Snacks category from the Spring 2001 study.
As an example, suppose that you are developing a print marketing
campaign for a candy bar, and you want to know who your target market is (in
terms of age, income, education, family structure, etc.), and what magazines
they read.
The resulting report should tell you who your
target market is in demographic terms, what kinds of media they use (e.g. radio,
television) and at what time of day, and even what channels they watch and what
magazines they read.
Mediamark Reporter is a CD-ROM database
that provides information on demographics, lifestyles, product and brand
usage, and advertising media preferences reported by a sample of over 25,000
United States consumers. Mediamark Reporter is available only in the Foster Business Library
and cannot be accessed remotely.
Logging On:
Mediamark Reporter is available only on computer
terminal #19 the Foster Business Library Reference area. Please ask the
librarian on duty to direct you to that terminal. Access the database through the Start menu.
Selecting a Study:
Once you have entered the database, you should see an
alphabetical list of available studies. To confirm that you are viewing
all available studies, check to see that all three menus in the Show only
box are set to All. Each study covers a broad product
category. Within each broad category, you can find reports on more
specific kinds of products.

Searching:

The following example illustrates a Mediamark Reporter
search for information on consumers of a specific product group.








| NOTE: Items with asterisks (*) indicate that the sample size is small, less than 50, and that the figures presented should be used with caution. |
The Target Report option allows you to pick a media type or demographic segment and analyze it in terms of individual products within your category of interest. To generate a Target Report:

The DemoMedia option allows you to pick a product from your chosen category (in this case Candy - Individual Reular Size) and analyze it in terms of demographics and media usage. To generate a DemoMedia Report:

Summary Reports:
The Summary Report option allows you to access general
information about your product. You can find out the total amount consumed
by the relevant study group (e.g. adults), the proportion of that group who use
certain brands, and the proportion of that group who are light, medium and heavy
users of the product in question. To generate a summary report:
Printing and Saving:
For a detailed explanation of various table reports, click
on the More Info button. More Info also offers help in
understanding what kinds of information is covered by Mediamark, how it is
obtained, and how to interpret the data provided in a Mediamark report.
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed
most of the hours that the library is
open. The
staff at the desk
will be happy to help find information in the Libraries' databases and to answer questions about database
availability.
The telephone number for the reference desk is (206) 543-8012.
Questions are also welcome via e-mail to balib@u.washington.edu.
For more information on this database, see also:

Help:
