![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
A search for Business and Politics retrieved over 350 references.
A search for Business and Politics, in Viewswire, retrieved a list of more than 15,000 articles.
This database provides company fact sheets and overviews of many firms active in politics including Parsons Corporation, Halliburton Company, Bechtel Group, Fluor Corporation, the Louis Berger Group, Perini Corporation, Washington Group International, and the Raytheon Company, among others.
A basic search, in Business and Economics journals, for Business and Politics, in abstracts, produced just three articles; in full text, over ninety articles.
A general search for Business and Politics retrieved over 950 documents.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
See Political Action Committees in volume four, on pages 1602 to 1605.
See the Special Focus: Political Corruption volume, published in 2004, and chapter four, on corporate money, on pages 59 to 75.
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Politics and Business produced over 1,000 records in the UW Libraries, with over 160 records in the Foster Business Library, including:
A subject search for Business and Politics produced a list of over 290
records in the UW Libraries, with over sixty records in the Foster Business Library, including, as well as titles noted above:
A search for the subject Corporations -- United States -- Political Activity produced a list of over 25 records in the UW Libraries, with 10 records
in the Foster Business Library, including:
A search for the subject Big Business — United States also produced books on the subject of Business and Politics, with over 100 records in the UW Libraries, including over sixty records in the Foster Business Library, including:
See also the subject Corporations – Political Activity, with eight records in the UW Libraries, including four records in the Foster Business Library:
Other relevant books may be found under such subjects as Political Participation – United States, such as:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
As an example, a search in this database for Business and Politics,
in all databases,
produced over 56,000
articles. A similar search for Politics and Business Government Relations produced over 230 articles.
A search for the subjects
SUB(Business Community) and SUB(Campaign Contributions) produced over 120 articles; for
SUB(Business Community) and SUB(Elections) and SUB(Campaign Contributions), over 35 articles.
As examples of articles, see:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Company and Industry.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.