![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
In general, the compensation of top officers of U.S. public companies is public knowledge, since information about
compensation must be filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Likewise, the salaries of public employees
and officials is usually also public, though the information may not be easy to find. For employees in specific
companies, however, below the level of S.E.C. requirements, salary information is rarely available. Companies rarely
disclose pay ranges for their staff, on their webpages or in their job advertisements. Instead, what is available is
more general information by type of job, area, and by industry, from a variety of online and printed sources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See their research under the topic of Compensation. See also their Annual Studies section, one of which covers Executive Compensation, with data on Top Executive Compensation, for the "five highest-paid executives in over 2,800 companies in 14 major industry sectors" for more than five years, as well as for director compensation.
See Country Commerce for over fifty countries and, in particular, the Human Resources chapter, with its section on wages and fringe benefits. As an example, see their 2004 chapter for the United States. Older editions of Country Commerce are also available in print, in the Foster Business Library reference collection, with the call number HG4538 .I663, often with information on average monthly salaries for ten or twelve benchmark positions that is not available in the online version.
U.S. companies in Hoovers Online with a company overview include extensive listings of top company officers and their salaries and bonuses; look in the People category. As an example, see the People section for Starbucks. Not all companies in this database have company overviews, however, and most non-U.S. companies do not have salary information.
Go to Business and then to Company Profiles; search by company name and the word Compensation to obtain compensation data on company officers and board members, from the U.S. Executive Compensation Database. Another source for compensation information is proxy statements. Go to SEC Filings, then to the SEC 10-K Reports pulldown menu to access SEC Filings - Proxy Statements; look for the Executive Compensation section.
A keyword search for Earnings produced over 1,000 tables. A more specific search for Earnings, limited to annual and by sex produced over 400 tables.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
General:
International:
National:
Northwest:
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search in the UW Libraries Catalog for Salaries produced a list of over 2,000 records.
Limiting this search to the Foster Business Library cut the
number of records to over 150.
A keyword search for Wages produced a list of over
3,000 records
but limiting to the Foster Business Library cut that number to about
250 records.
Examples of selected relevant subject headings, with holdings in the Foster Business Library, include:
See also the subject Salaries, etc. under types of professional employees; and the subdivision Officials and employees--Salaries, etc. under names of countries, cities, etc. and names of individual government agencies; see the three examples above.
Foster titles from these searches include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
To search for articles on salaries, use the phrase SUB(Wages & Salaries); A search in all databases produced over 64,000 articles on this subject, including over 7,500 articles in scholarly journals, over 5,000 articles in magazines, over 20,000 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and over 30,000 articles in newspapers.
To make your search more specific, add the name of
the industry or executive whose salaries you are interested in.
As an example, a search, in all databases, for
SUB(Wages & Salaries) and SUB(Automobile Industry) produced a list of over 400 articles; SUB(Wages & Salaries) and PER(Donald Trump), just six articles.
For articles on this separate but related topic, try searches for the SUB(Executive Compensation), with over 20,000 articles in this database.
To obtain annual
survey information on salaries, add the phrase SUB(Polls & surveys)
to your search--and combine it with an industry or occupation name. As an example, a search in all
databases for
SUB(Wages & Salaries) and SUB(Polls & Surveys) and SUB(Automobile Industry) produced a list of four articles.
Examples of articles, from the searches above, include:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed most of the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for General Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.