![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
See over forty research reports under the topic Corporate Citizenship.
See Social Responsibility and Organizational Ethics, in the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance.
As an example, see the Patagonia brand and the Company Factsheet for Lost Arrow Corporation and the link to the Company Overview; in the profile, see the "various businesses -- which included Patagonia and Chouinard Equipment -- were grouped under the Lost Arrow umbrella in 1984. That year it began donating 10% of pretax profits to environmental causes (it now gives 1% of sales if that is greater). Several years of rapid growth followed. Chouinard brought in professional managers, and Lost Arrow began offering clothes for casual buyers. But expansion was a misstep: By the end of the decade, expenses had skyrocketed and inventory piled up. The original equipment company then went into Chapter 11. (It was later sold to employees.) In 1991 Lost Arrow cut staff and drastically reduced its offerings, a move that led to regained profitability. In 1996 it began using only organic cotton (cotton crops are heavy users of pesticides). In 1998, thanks to such perks as flex time and paid leave, Patagonia marked its tenth appearance on "Working Mother"'s list of the 100 best companies for working mothers. Michael Crooke became CEO of Lost Arrow in late 1999. In early 2000 he shook up senior management, bringing in industry experts to oversee sales, marketing, and Japanese operations."
A search for "Corporate Social Responsibility" produced over 580 articles.
A search in this database for "Corporate Social Responsibility" produced over 202 articles and references.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See Business and Society on pages 48 to 50; Business Associations for Social Responsibility on pages 50 to 51; Corporate Social Performance on pages 154 to 155; Environment and Environmental Ethics on pages 205 to 208; and Social Responsibility on pages 593 to 595.
See Corporate Social Responsibility on pages 291 and 292; Social Responsibility of Management, on pages 2115 to 2117; and Environmental Management, on pages 113 and 114.
See Corporate Social Responsibility on pages 115 to 122 and the chapter on the Environment on pages 267 to 324.
See Corporate Social Responsibility in volume one, on pages 508 to 517.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
See books in the Foster Business Library on the subject Social Responsibility of Business, with over 160 titles in the Foster Business Library, including:
Repeating this search in Summit produced a much longer list of over 700 records.
See also the new Brookings Institution title on this subject:
For case studies, see the subject Social Responsibility Of Business -- Case Studies, including:
See also the annual Research in corporate
social performance and policy in the Foster Business Library General Stacks,
call number HD60 .R475; the 1998 edition is the most recent in the collection.
On the environmental side, see books with such subjects as:
Foster Business Library Corporate Annual Reports:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of several thousand annual reports for hundreds of U.S. and foreign companies. These reports are filed in lateral filing cabinets near the Foster Reference desk under the sign Corporate Annual Reports. Annual reports for companies in an industry can be a valuable source of information about the industry itself. For a list of all the companies in the collection, see the library's Corporate Annual Reports Collection. For an index to corporate annual reports in the collection by industry sector, see the Annual Reports Industry Sector Index. For an index to companies in the collection with headquarters outside the U.S., see Corporate Annual Reports Headquarters Index.
Some companies detail their activities in the area of social and environmental responsibility in their annual reports--or issue separate annual reports on those topics.
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
The Foster Business Library Periodical Collection consists of over 800 magazines, newspapers and journals, arranged alphabetically by title, and located in the northwest corner of the ground floor of the library. Click here for a list of the titles in this collection.
Relevant titles in this collection include:
Click here
for additional periodical titles on this subject.
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
A search in this database for
SUB(Social Responsibility) retrieved over 27,000 articles, including over 3,000 articles in scholarly journals, over 2,000 magazine articles, over 5,000 articles in trade and industry publications, and 16,000 newspaper articles.
This large article set can be reduced by adding subject headings, such as
SUB(Social Responsibility) and SUB(Corporate Responsibility), producing just over 1,000 articles, or SUB(Social Responsibility) and SUB(Corporate Responsibility), producing just over 1,000 articles, or SUB(Social Responsibility) and SUB(Case Studies), producing just over 300 articles.
Examples of such articles include:
Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for General Business.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.