Business Statistics Resources
Business Statistics Resources
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Databases >>> Web Resources >>> Reference Books >>> Books >>> Periodicals >>> Articles >>> Help
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
This World Tourism Organization annual publication provides, for over 200 countries, statistical information about tourism for the years 1995 through 1999, including international visitors by country of residence.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G149 .I73.
This World Tourism Organization annual publication provides, for over 200 countries, statistical information about tourism, including inbound tourism, with arrivals by region and mode of transport, purpose of visit, length of stay, tourism expenditure, as well as domestic and outbound tourism, and tourism activities. More detailed statistics from this organization are available in the Yearbook of tourism statistics, in the Foster reference collection, call number G149 .I73.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: G155 .A1 .T5896.
This United Nations publication is a compilation of statistical data from over 40 international and national sources, on national accounts, industry, energy, transport and trade, demographics and many other subjects.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA12.5 .U63 1998.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade, energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing information for the Americas, Asia, Africa and Oceania; companion volume to European marketing data and statistics.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA42 .I56 2003.
This older reference work is arranged alphabetically by country, with statistical data for 185 countries, on geography, human factors, education, science and technology, government and law, labor force, production sectors, manufacturing, and finance, economics, and trade. For most countries, data is from about 1960, at the earliest, to 2010, for projections.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA154 .S83 1994.
This one-volume work covers United States population, vital statistics and health, migration, labor, national income and wealth, consumer income and expenditures, social statistics, land--water--climate, agriculture, forestry--fisheries, minerals, construction--housing, manufacturing, transportation, communications, energy, distribution--services, international trade, business enterprises, productivity--technological development, financial markets--institutions, and government.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .D378 2007.
Information about many industries as well as demographic information; check index for references to tables. The sources for each table are often a valuable source of additional information.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA202 .U56 2007.
Also available online.
Demographic trends and forecasts, economic indicators, labor force, trade, energy, environment, consumer expenditures and market size, and retailing information for European countries.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HA1107 .E87 2003.
This World Bank volume contains a large number of tables listing each country and key data about its people, environment, economy, markets, employment, poverty, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC59.15 .W656.
Also available, in part, online.
This reference work, now in its tenth edition, covers the U.S. economy in detail, including GDP, industrial production, income distribution, consumer income and spending, savings and investment, government spending, foreign trade, prices, employment, energy, money and markets, international comparisons, industries, historical data, and state and regional data. Over 3,400 time series are included in this volume.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HC101 .A13122 2007.
This huge annual volume, published by the International Labour Organization, provides a copious amount of data and information about worldwide labor force numbers, employment and unemployment, working hours, wages, labor costs, occupational injuries, and strikes and lockouts.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD4826 .I63.
This compilation of data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics is the first to use the NAICS codes for employment data, for the U.S., the fifty states, and the country's largest metropolitan areas. See Washington state, and Seattle, Spokane, and Tacoma, on pages 1099 to 1118.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HD5723 .A26 2005.
This two-volume annual work, published by the United Nations, provides statistics for international trade, volume one arranged by country, volume two by commodity.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF91 .Y4.
This reference work covers the basics of statistics, who generates and publishes statistics, industry sources, market research sources, economic and financial statistics, company, demographics and population statistics, etc.
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HF1016 .B47 2003.
(See also the author's A to Z index to Business Statistics on the Web)
Published annually by the International Monetary Fund, this compendium of statistics for every country provides information on population, GDP, producer, wholesale and consumer prices, wages, labor force, unemployment, volume and value of imports and exports, and many other categories. Statistics cover each year of the past 30 years, where data is available. The most recent decade of the monthly version of this yearbook is available in the Foster Business Library Reference collection, with the call number HG3881 .I626
Foster Business Library Reference, CALL NUMBER: HG3881 .I6263.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Statistics or Statistical, limited to the Foster Business Library, retrieved over 1,700 records. A keyword search for Business Statistics, limited to the Foster Business Library, produced over 35 records. Examples include:
- Essentials of modern business statistics with Microsoft Excel (2004)
- Practical business statistics (2003)
- Business statistics (1997)
- A second course in statistics: regression analysis (1996)
Relevant subject terms include:
Statistics are more often encountered as subheadings on business topics, as in International Trade -- Statistics
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
-
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of 800 periodicals, arranged alphabetically by title at the west end of the library. A list of the titles in this collection is available on the Foster homepage under Links for Business Research; look for Periodical Lists and click on Periodicals in the Foster Business Library.
- Applied statistics, v.16-48 (1967-1999) Incomplete v.45- (1977-)
- Conference Board Statistical bulletin v.3 no.10- v.22 (Oct. 1970-1989)
- Employment and earnings (Bureau of Labor Statistics), v.1- (1954-)
- Journal of business and economic statistics, v.1- (1983-)
- Review of Economics and Statistics. v.57- (1975-)
- Royal Statistical Society. Journal.
- AIM market statistics (London Stock Market)
- BP statistical review of U.S. energy
- Highway statistics
- International labor statistics center
- International trade by commodity statistics (OECD)
- Oil, gas, coal and electricity quarterly statistics (OECD)
- Oxford bulletin of economics and statistics
- Quarterly labour force statistics (OECD)
- Team Consultation Archives (arranged by class or program)
- Team Consultation Archives (arranged by industry)
- Team Consultation Archives (arranged by title of assignment)
- Team Consultation Archives (arranged by academic quarter)
- Index to all Team Consultations and Research Guides
Statistics-related titles in this collection include:
The UW Libraries also subscribe to electronic journals, some of them in the area of business and economics. Access to these electronic journals is limited to authenticated UW users. For a list of these journals, click here.
Statistics-related titles in this collection include (most or all of them UW Restricted):
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
ProQuest Databases:
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
To find articles about statistics, add SUB(Statistical Data) to searches for industries or business topics.
For example, a search in this database, for SUB(Automobile Industry) and SUB(Statistical Data), produced a list of over 1,600 articles, including over 80 articles in scholarly journals, over 130 magazine articles, over 1,200 articles in trade and industry periodicals, and just three newspaper articles. Help:
The Foster Business Library Reference Desk is staffed nearly all the hours that the library is open. The staff at the desk will be happy to help you find research tools on any business subject. For e-mail questions, direct your query to balib@u.washington.edu. For assistance by telephone, dial (206) 543-8012 during library hours.
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Statistics.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.


