![]() |
|
|
![]() |
Foster Business Library research guides are aimed at University of Washington students, faculty, and
staff, highlighting resources available to them; users not currently affiliated with the university
may be unable to access some of these resources.
Foster Business Library Databases:
The Foster Business Library offers an extensive collection of over fifty databases on its homepage; see under Databases. For a complete list of Foster databases, see the List of All Business Databases. Access to these databases from off campus requires that you first go to the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. These resources may not be accessed from off campus except by those with a valid UW Net ID and password. For more information on Foster business databases, click Databases, A-Z. For information on which Foster business databases to use, see the Database Index. For information on accessing Foster databases from off campus, see Database Access. For guidelines on responsible database usage, see Database Usage.
A search for Supply Chain Management retrieved 245 documents. Supply Chain is also one of Forrester Research's twenty-two Research Topics.
A search for Supply Chain Management retrieved over 1,000 documents. ERP and Supply Chain Management is also one of Gartner's Research Topics.
A Keyword search for Supply Chain Management retrieved a list of nine reports.
An AND search for Supply Chain Management, in 2006 and 2007 publications, retrieved sixteen tables.
A basic search for the phrase "Supply Chain Management" produced over four hundred articles.
A search for Supply Chain Management produced over 1,500 references.
See the downloadable Vault Career Guide to Supply Chain Management.
Unlike library databases, Web resources are available wherever you have web access; they do not require that you access them via the Off-Campus Access button, in the upper right of all library webpages. When using web resources, be sure to evaluate the credibility of these resources. For a subject index to web resources, see Business Resources on the Web on the Foster Business Library homepage.
Guides:
Organizations and Other Resources:
Foster Business Library Reference Collection:
The Foster Business Library Reference Collection consists of business handbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other quick reference tools. It is located behind the Reference Desk in Foster, arranged by call number. Reference materials cannot be checked out; they may only be used in the library.
See Supply Chain Dynamics, pages 209 to 210, and Supply Chain Management, on pages 210 to 214.
See Supply Chain Management on pages 914 to 917.
See Purchasing and Supply Chain Management on pages 2094 to 2096, for a listing of selected books, journals, websites and organizations associated with this topic.
See the index for names of companies profiled in this book.
See Logistics Outsourcing Services on pages 403 to 406.
See Supply Chain Management: Competing Through Integration on pages 755 to 760.
See the index in the back of the latest volume (volume seven, at present) for an alphabetical listing of products in the entire set.
Foster Business Library Books:
The Foster Business Library maintains a collection of over 70,000 books on all business topics. To search for materials on all three campuses of the University of Washington, go to the UW Libraries Catalog, in the upper left corner of the Foster Business Library homepage. Search by keyword, title, author, series, etc.
To limit the results of your search just to materials in the Foster Business Library collection, use the Modify or Limit options at the top of the search results and change the library location to Foster Business Library. Availablity is indicated on the right of each online catalog record. First, note in which collection, within Foster, your materials are in, since the library has ten different Collections, each in a different location and often with differing arrangements. "Available" indicates that the book should be on the shelves under that call number and available for you to check out. "Due" and a date indicates that the book is already checked out to someone and is due back on the date indicated; you can have the "Request/Place Hold" feature to recall the book for your use.
If the material you want is not in the collections of the University of Washington, you can use the "Search Summit" feature to repeat your search in the combined holdings of over thirty cooperating libraries in Washington and Oregon. Use the "Request This Item" feature in Summit to have books in those library sent here to Foster for you to check out.
The Foster general stacks collection is located south of the main part of the Foster Business Library, through the two pass-throughs into the basement of Balmer. The arrangement is by call number, from A (at the east end, near the Copy Center) to Z (at the far west end).
A keyword search for Supply Chain, limited to the Foster Business
Library (to restrict the search to business-related titles), retrieved over sixty
records, including:
Applicable subject terms, gleaned from these keyword searches, include:
Foster Business Library Periodicals:
The Foster Business Library Periodical Collection consists of over 800 magazines, newspapers and journals, arranged alphabetically by title, and located in the northwest corner of the ground floor of the library. Click here for a list of the titles in this collection.
Supply chain-related titles in this collection include:
The UW Libraries also subscribe to electronic journals, some of them in the area of business and economics. Access to these electronic journals is limited to authenticated UW users. For a list of these journals, click here.
Supply chain-related titles in this collection include:
Foster Business Library Articles:
Articles in academic journals, magazines, trade periodicals, and newspapers are one of the best sources for any kind of research. While the Foster Business Library offers a large periodicals print collection, comprising over 800 titles, articles are most easily accessed online, 24/7, in such fulltext article databases as EBSCO Business Source Premier, Factiva, LexisNexis Academic, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest Databases. These article databases are available in the library or from off-campus, and provide access to over 10,000 periodicals and millions of articles.
Library access to most ProQuest databases will terminate at the end of spring quarter 2008, except for ProQuest NewsStand, ProQuest Dissertations and Theses, Historical New York Times, and the Historical Wall Street Journal. For more about this change, see UW Libraries Providing New Databases. After this change, comprehensive article searches should be performed in EBSCO Business Source Premier, Newsbank Infoweb, and ProQuest NewsStand. Also, after this change, links to the articles below will be broken.
This database--actually, a family of over two dozen databases--offers full text articles for over 10,000 publications, including scholarly journals, magazines, trade and industry periodicals, newspapers, and reports on a very wide range of topics. To find articles on specific topics, search by word or phrase by keying your search phrase into the search box--or search for your topic in the Topic Guide.
Your search terms will be highlighted in red in each article.
As an example, a search for Supply Chain Management retrieved over 50,000 articles, including over 4,000 articles in
scholarly journals, over 1,000 articles in magazines, over 14,000 articles in trade
publications, and over 4,700 articles in newspapers.
A more specific phrase search, for "Supply Chain Contracts," for instance, produced only forty articles in this database. An alternative subject search for SUB(Supply Chains) and SUB(Contracts) produced over 220 articles.
Searches can be narrowed by searching by subject in this database, and by combining subject searches.
The subject term most used in this database for Supply Chain Management is Supply Chains; a search for SUB(Supply Chains) produced over 15,000 articles. Top subjects combined with SUB(Supply Chains) include:
It's also possible to combine subject terms and words, as in SUB(Supply Chains) and Resiliency, for example, which produced almost a dozen articles.
Examples of articles from these searches include:
See also the Foster Business Library's Business & Economics FAQ, and, in particular, the section for Management.
For research guides on a wide variety of industries, products, companies, issues and topics, see the Team Librarian Consultation archives.