Database Index
ProQuest Databases will no longer be available
after the end of Spring Quarter 2008. For further information, see UW Libraries Providing New
Databases.
This list includes online business-related databases available in the Foster Business Library or via the
Foster Business Library homepage (for those with a
UW NetID). This list
is arranged alphabetically by topic; for a list arranged alphabetically by the name of the database, see
Databases, A To Z.
Accounting
Articles (Citations)
Articles (Full Text)
Associations
Bonds
Books
Business Law
Careers
Company Directories
Company Financials
Company Information
Country Information
Dissertations
Economics
International Trade
Industry Information
Investment Firms
Market Research Reports
Marketing
Mutual Funds
Newspapers
New York Times
Research Reports
Seattle Newspapers
Small Business Information
Sociological Literature
Statistics
Stocks
Tables
Tax
Trade Newsletters
U.S. Data
Venture Capital
Wall Street Journal
Washington State Newspapers
Accounting:
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
RIA Checkpoint:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
RIA Checkpoint is a tax database, designed for research, with comprehensive coverage of U.S., international,
and state tax law, analysis, treatises, tax news, rulings, and practical practice aids. The database also includes a
pension and benefits and a payroll library. In addition to the U.S. Internal Revenue Code, this database includes a
number of RIA full text publications such as the Federal Tax Coordinator and the RIA Federal Tax Handbook, as well as
Warren, Gorham, and Lamont tax journals. Use of this database requires a one-time personal registration. Click here to register with your UW NetID.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Articles (Citations):
- America: History and
Life:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Index to journals and dissertations on the history and culture of
the United States and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
EconLit:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit
is the fundamental research tool in economics. The database provides
bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, to the international
literature on economics since 1969. Econ Lit corresponds to the Journal of
Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, covering journal
articles, books, and dissertations, as well as articles in collective
works, such as conference proceedings and collected essay volumes.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- Historical
Abstracts:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Index to journals and dissertations on the history of the world
from 1450 to the present excluding the United States and Canada.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
PsycINFO:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The PsycINFO database indexes articles from over 1,300 journals in the field of psychology including
human and animal
behavior, psychiatry and sociology; useful for marketing and consumer information.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Public Affairs Information Service:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
PAIS indexes articles
from over 1,400 journals along with thousands of government documents,
statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings and
books in the broad field of public and social policy issues.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Social Sciences Citation Abstracts:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Databases — Journals, News and Magazines.
Index to cited and citing references in journals in the social sciences.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Articles (Full Text):
-
Conference Board Business Knowledge Research:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
A searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business and
economics. Economics material includes U.S. and global economic indicators and analysis as
well as forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- EBSCO Business Source Complete:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Full text for over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals (among them, the Harvard Business Review). Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Expanded Academic ASAP:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
Provides indexing and abstracts for over
1,500 scholarly and popular humanities/social science journals.
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the King County Library System,
Pierce County Library System,
Seattle Public Library,
and
Sno-Isle Regional Library System).
-
Factiva:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. (U.W.
restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
- JSTOR:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
JSTOR is a subject searchable index of over 360 journals, with full-text backfiles of
scholarly journals, some of which date back to the 1800's. Over one hundred business and economics journals are among the collections of
scholarly journals on this site.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- New York Times Historical:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Part of ProQuest Databases, this database provides full page and article images with searchable full text, from September 18, 1851 through December 31, 2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Public Affairs Information Service:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
PAIS indexes articles
from over 1,400 journals along with thousands of government documents,
statistical directories, reports, pamphlets, conference proceedings and
books in the broad field of public and social policy issues.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- Wall Street Journal Historical:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
This ProQuest database, covering
the years 1889 through 1989, stores each page in PDF format, fully searchable by
keyword. Content includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, articles, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Associations:
Bonds:
-
Bloomberg:
24-hour-a-day, real-time financial information network for news and analyses of financial markets
and business as well as current and historical data for all securities, statistics, indices, and
research, using a special terminal and keyboard.
UW Restricted; signon available from the Foster Business Library
reference desk staff. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff.
For search tips to this database, click here.
Public PC #20 only.
-
Mergent Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Databases — Other Business Databases. Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000 international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
For search tips, see About Mergent Online.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the
Seattle Public Library).
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases.
Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the Seattle Public Library).
Books:
-
Books in Print:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Online version indexes in-print and forthcoming books published or
distributed in the U.S which are available to the general public or trade
for single or multiple copy purchases. Areas covered include over 1.2
million books of all kinds: adult, juvenile, popular, scholarly, and
reprints.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
OCLC WorldCat:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
OCLC WorldCat consists of over 30 million catalog records
and holdings information for material owned by OCLC member libraries
around the world. Cataloged materials include books, journals, maps, sound
recordings, films, videotapes, manuscripts, and other items.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
UW Libraries Catalog:
Upper left corner of Foster Business Library homepage.
Holdings of the books and journals of the University of Washington Libraries, including Bothell and
Tacoma Campus Libraries. A separate catalog contains holdings for the UW Law Library.
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Business Law:
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Careers:
- Vault Career Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases.
This database provides information and guides for over 3,000 companies, 40 industries, and over fifty career paths, including over ninety career guides, as well as employer profiles, articles, and advice on careers, resumes, and cover letters; and more.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Company Directories:
-
Hoover's Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Databases — Other Business Databases. Source for detailed company information, company
histories, lists of competitors, financials and news. Also includes
industry profiles and comparisons.
Service restricted to current UW
students, faculty and staff.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Kompass:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Directory information for 1.6 million companies in 72 countries, with indexes for company
products and services, containing 23 million product and service references, and 500,000
trademarks and brand names.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Mergent Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000 international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
For search tips, see About Mergent Online.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
ReferenceUSA:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Directory
information for 14 million companies in the
U.S. Companies can be searched for by name, business activity, size and
location.
For a tutorial on Reference USA, from the Houston Public Library, click here.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the King County Library System,
Pierce County Library System,
Seattle Public Library, and
Sno-Isle Regional Library System).
- ThomasNet:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Web-based access to a directory of hundreds of thousands of products and services in the U.S. and Canada; online version of the print edition of the Thomas Register, available in the Foster Business Library reference collection, call number T12 .T62 2006. (U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Company Financials:
-
Hoover's Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Source for detailed company information, company
histories, lists of competitors, financials and news. Also includes
industry profiles and comparisons.
Service restricted to current UW
students, faculty and staff.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Mergent Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000 international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
For search tips, see About Mergent Online.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Company Information:
-
CorpTech EXPLORE:
Temporarily unavailable.
- EBSCO Business Source Complete:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Full text for over 8,800 magazines, newspapers and journals, including more than 1,100 peer-reviewed journals (among them, the Harvard Business Review). Also includes some market research reports, SWOT analyses, and country reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Factiva:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. (U.W.
restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and
#20.
-
Hoover's Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Source for detailed company information, company
histories, lists of competitors, financials and news. Also includes
industry profiles and comparisons.
Service restricted to current UW
students, faculty and staff.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Mergent Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000 international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
For search tips, see About Mergent Online.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases.
Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the Seattle Public Library).
Country Information:
-
China Data Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
Comprehensive database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases on China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Comtrade:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
A product of the United Nations Statistics Division, this database is the most comprehensive source for world trade data. "Every year between 120 to 140 countries or areas report their merchandise trade statistics to the United Nations...[covering] as much as 95% of world trade. Each of these countries report the trade by commodity and trading partner." Our site license allows multiple users access. Access to Comtrade is IP controlled to the UW only, so be sure to click on Off-Campus Access (upper right corner of the Foster Business Library homepage, to authenticate your UW status from off-campus). Downloads may consist of an unlimited number of records. There are two technical restrictions: first, a maximum of six queries per minute, and, second, no more than 150,000 records downloaded per query. Please logoff after using, to enable other UW users to access this database.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
EIU Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database, provided by the Economist Intelligence Unit, provides online access to their
print editions of the annual Country Profiles, quarterly Country Reports, and
Country Commerce, for nearly 200 countries, with both current and retrospective
publications. There is also access to the Unit's Viewswires, with more up-to-date coverage
of countries and topics.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(EIU Viewswires is also available to cardholders via the King County Library System and
Seattle Public Library).
-
Europa World:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
This database mirrors the Europa World Year Book in the Foster Business Library, with profiles for 250 countries as well as a variety of regions and international organizations, with statistical, historical, political, and economic information and data, as well as a comparison feature, and directory information.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Global Financial Data:
This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- International Financial Statistics Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases. The International Monetary fund's International Financial Statistics database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments, inflation, deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- MarketResearch.com Academic: On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Databases. This database contains comprehensive full-text market research reports covering a broad range of markets, industries, and companies from reputable market intelligence sources such as Packaged Facts, Icon Group, and many others, for U.S. and global markets for 200 countries covering over 2,000 industries and products.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Source OECD:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Source OECD is the online library of the Organization for Economic Co-operation and
Development, with twenty OECD book collections by theme, including all of the organization's
monographs and reports published since 1998; twenty OECD periodicals; some OECD reference
titles; and the OECD
databases. The OECD has 30
member countries and relationships with 70 other countries.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
World Bank GDF Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Statistical data from the World Bank for over 200 debt and financial flows indicators for 138
countries that report public and publicly-guaranteed debt to the World Bank. Data is from 1970 to
2011, where available.
Web version of the annual Global Development Finance.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
World Bank WDI Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Statistical data from the World Bank for over 550 development indicators and time series data from
1960-2000 for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial,
natural resources, and environmental indicators. Web version of World Development Indicators.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- World Competitiveness Online
The World competitiveness yearbook analyzes and ranks the ability of nations to create and maintain an environment that sustains the competitiveness of enterprises. World competitiveness online provides access to the entire WCY database including 5 year time series.
Dissertations:
-
ProQuest Dissertations:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Index and abstracts to doctoral dissertations and
masters theses from over 1,000 universities and colleges in the U.S. from
1861 to the present.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Economics:
-
China Data Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
Comprehensive database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases on China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Conference Board Business Knowledge Research:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
A searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business and
economics. Economics material includes U.S. and global economic indicators and analysis as
well as forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Datastream:
Detailed international securities and economic
data. (U.S. data is not available in Datastream; it is only available in Compustat to
U.W. faculty and Ph.D. students
via BA Computer Services Research Computing.)
For a Princeton tutorial on using this database, click here.
Service
restricted to current UW students,
faculty and staff.
Public PC #20 only.
-
EconLit:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Produced by the American Economic Association, EconLit
is the fundamental research tool in economics. The database provides
bibliographic citations, with selected abstracts, to the international
literature on economics since 1969. Econ Lit corresponds to the Journal of
Economic Literature and the Index of Economic Articles, covering journal
articles, books, and dissertations, as well as articles in collective
works, such as conference proceedings and collected essay volumes.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Economic Literature Database:
Library CD-ROM Network. On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
Contains citations from a
wide range of economic, accounting, and finance journals.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
-
Global Financial Data:
This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- International Financial Statistics Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases. The International Monetary fund's International Financial Statistics database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments, inflation, deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Oxford Reference: Economics & Business:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
This
database provides online searching and content for Oxford University Press's
Dictionaries of Accounting, Business, Economics, Finance and Banking, Human Resource
Management, and the Handbook of International Financial Terms. See the Dictionary of Economics.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the King County Library System)
Industry Information:
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for five major business sources: the Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002), and, since 2004 and volume 59, the International Directory of Company Histories.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Sports Business Research Network / SBRnet:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases. Market research and industry news covering all aspects of the sporting goods industry including: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases.
Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the Seattle Public Library).
- World Telecommunication Indicators:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
International Telecommunication Union database of
telecommunications data, country by country, with data from the Yea
rbook of Statistics and from the Worl
d Telecommunications Development Report. Part of the UW Libraries CD-ROM Network.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
International Trade:
-
China Data Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
Comprehensive database focusing on economic statistics of China, arranged by regions and categories. Includes monthly and yearly reports on China's macroeconomic development, statistical databases on China's population and economy at the county and city level, and financial indicators of more than 568 industrial branches.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Comtrade:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
A product of the United Nations Statistics Division, this database is the most comprehensive source for world trade data. "Every year between 120 to 140 countries or areas report their merchandise trade statistics to the United Nations...[covering] as much as 95% of world trade. Each of these countries report the trade by commodity and trading partner." Our site license allows multiple users access. Access to Comtrade is IP controlled to the UW only, so be sure to click on Off-Campus Access (upper right corner of the Foster Business Library homepage, to authenticate your UW status from off-campus). Downloads may consist of an unlimited number of records. There are two technical restrictions: first, a maximum of six queries per minute, and, second, no more than 150,000 records downloaded per query. Please logoff after using, to enable other UW users to access this database.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Investment Firms:
-
Investext Plus:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and
industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well
as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. All reports are in PDF format.
Because the Libraries' subscription to this service is limited to five concurrent users, there may be delays in
obtaining full text reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available, through General BusinessFile ASAP, to cardholders via the King County Library System,
the Seattle Public Library
(SPL),
and
Sno-Isle Regional Library System).
Market Research Reports:
-
Forrester Research:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Forrester is an independent research firm that concentrates on the effects of technology change on businesses,
consumers, and society, and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking,
telecommunications, and the Internet. University of Washington faculty, staff, and students who wish to use
Forrester Research must register for an
individual account after agreeing to terms and conditions. You need only supply Forrester Research with
your first and last name, after having identified yourself via your UW NetID. As a result, your
individual use of Forrester can be, and may be monitored by the company, although Forrester will not convey any
personal information to third parties. UW Faculty, staff and continuing students may need to re-register periodically
as Forrester purges accounts to keep their lists up to date. Click here to register with your UW NetID.
(U.W. restricted) Service restricted
to
current UW students, faculty and staff.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Gartner Research:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Gartner Research provides in-depth analysis and market intelligence for the information technology industry, covering the full range of products and technologies associated with computer hardware, software, communications products, financial services, electronic business, and healthcare application software worldwide. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- MarketResearch.com Academic: On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Databases. This database contains comprehensive full-text market research reports covering a broad range of markets, industries, and companies from reputable market intelligence sources such as Packaged Facts, Icon Group, and many others, for U.S. and global markets for 200 countries covering over 2,000 industries and products.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Marketing Data:
- MarketResearch.com Academic: On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Databases. This database contains comprehensive full-text market research reports covering a broad range of markets, industries, and companies from reputable market intelligence sources such as Packaged Facts, Icon Group, and many others, for U.S. and global markets for 200 countries covering over 2,000 industries and products.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Mediamark Reporter:
Library CD-ROM Network.
CD-ROM version of Mediamark Research, a tool for market research, with information on
demographics, product and brand usage, and advertising media preferences based on survey
responses from a sample of over 25,000 consumers in the United States. Print copies of
Mediamark
Research are available in over 20 volumes in the Foster Business Library reference collection,
call number HF5415.3 .M43, dated spring 1998; the online version offers 2001 data.
Search tips for using this database are available by clicking here.
Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
-
Simmons Choices III:
Library CD-ROM network.
CD-ROM version of the Simmons Study of Media and Markets,
a tool for market research; a print version of this resource, in many volumes, is available in
the Foster Business Library reference collection, dated 1993, with the call number HF5415.3
.S78 1993. Choices III provides marketing
data that can be cross-tabulated to create demographic and psychographic profiles of
consumers.
Search tips for using this database are available by clicking here.
Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
Mutual Funds:
-
Morningstar Principia Pro:
Library CD-ROM Network.
Online version of Morningstar Mutual Funds, an
advisory service providing profiles and performance measures for selected
mutual funds. For more information on how to use this database, go to Morningstar's twenty-five Product Tutorials.
Available only in the Foster Business Library, on all public and Access Plus computers; not available from off-campus.
(Also available in a web version to cardholders via the King County Library System)
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases.
Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the Seattle Public Library).
Newspapers:
-
Factiva:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. (U.W.
restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and
#20.
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
National Newspapers:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Indexing and full text for 27 major national newspapers, including, among other titles,
the Atlanta Constitution,
Atlanta Journal, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor,
Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and
Washington Post.
For search tips, click here.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(This database will no longer be available online via ProQuest after spring quarter
2008. For alternative access and further information, please click here.)
- New York Times Historical:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Part of ProQuest Databases, this database provides full page and article images with searchable full text, from September 18, 1851 through December 31, 2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
ProQuest Newspapers:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Full text and indexing for over 600 newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Oregonian, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and other major U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers; coverage includes content of the National Newspapers and Washington State Newsstand databases.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(This database will no longer be available online via ProQuest after spring quarter
2008. For alternative access and further information, please click here.)
- Wall Street Journal Historical:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
This ProQuest database, covering
the years 1889 through 1989, stores each page in PDF format, fully searchable by
keyword. Content includes news, editorials, letters to the editor, articles, obituaries, financial quotes, and advertisements.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
New York Times:
-
Factiva:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. (U.W.
restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and
#20.
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
National Newspapers:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Indexing and full text for 27 major national newspapers, including, among other titles,
the Atlanta Constitution,
Atlanta Journal, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor,
Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal and
Washington Post.
For search tips, click here.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(This database will no longer be available online via ProQuest after spring quarter
2008. For alternative access and further information, please click here.)
- New York Times Historical:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
Part of ProQuest Databases, this database provides full page and article images with searchable full text, from September 18, 1851 through December 31, 2003. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
ProQuest Newspapers:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Full text and indexing for over 600 newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Oregonian, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and other major U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers; coverage includes content of the National Newspapers and Washington State Newsstand databases.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(This database will no longer be available online via ProQuest after spring quarter
2008. For alternative access and further information, please click here.)
Research Reports:
-
Forrester Research:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Forrester is an independent research firm that concentrates on the effects of technology change on businesses,
consumers, and society, and analyzes such technology areas as new media, computing, software, networking,
telecommunications, and the Internet. University of Washington faculty, staff, and students who wish to use
Forrester Research must register for an
individual account after agreeing to terms and conditions. You need only supply Forrester Research with
your first and last name, after having identified yourself via your UW NetID. As a result, your
individual use of Forrester can be, and may be monitored by the company, although Forrester will not convey any
personal information to third parties. UW Faculty, staff and continuing students may need to re-register periodically
as Forrester purges accounts to keep their lists up to date. Click here to register with your UW NetID.
(U.W. restricted) Service restricted
to
current UW students, faculty and staff.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Gartner Research:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Gartner Research provides in-depth analysis and market intelligence for the information technology industry, covering the full range of products and technologies associated with computer hardware, software, communications products, financial services, electronic business, and healthcare application software worldwide. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Investext Plus:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Investext contains indexing and the full text of company and
industry research reports prepared by leading Wall Street firms, as well
as regional and international brokerage and financial firms. All reports are in PDF format.
Because the Libraries' subscription to this service is limited to five concurrent users, there may be delays in
obtaining full text reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available, through General BusinessFile ASAP, to cardholders via the King County Library System,
the Seattle Public Library
(SPL),
and
Sno-Isle Regional Library System).
Seattle Newspapers:
-
Factiva:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. (U.W.
restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and
#20.
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database provides accounting, business, legal, medical, news, and reference information as well as full text articles from over 18,000 sources, including 6,000 news sources (mostly newspapers, both U.S. and international), as well as transcripts and polling information. Also contains
corporate annual
reports, SEC filings, some international company information, and country
data.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
ProQuest Newspapers:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Full text and indexing for over 600 newspapers, including the Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Oregonian, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and other major U.S. national newspapers, international English-language newspapers, and selected regional/state newspapers; coverage includes content of the National Newspapers and Washington State Newsstand databases.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(This database will no longer be available online via ProQuest after spring quarter
2008. For alternative access and further information, please click here.)
-
Washington State Newsstand:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This database includes
full-text coverage of major Washington newspapers including the daily newspapers from
Pasco,
Seattle,
Tacoma, Spokane, Vancouver, and Yakima, plus selected coverage of other regional sources.
For
search tips, click here.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(This database will no longer be available online via ProQuest after spring quarter
2008. For alternative access and further information, please click here.)
Small Business Information:
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases.
The Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research; go to Business for five major business sources: the Business Plans Handbook, the Encyclopedia of American Industries (4th ed., 2005), the Encyclopedia of Business and Finance (2001), the Encyclopedia of Small Business (2nd ed., 2002), and, since 2004 and volume 59, the International Directory of Company Histories.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Sociological Information:
Statistics:
-
Global Financial Data:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Databases — Other Business Databases. This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- Historical Statistics of the United
States:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
A compilation of statistics from the colonial times to the
Present; includes population, social, business and economic statistics.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
InfoTech Trends:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Formerly called Computer Industry Forecasts. InfoTech
Trends indexes statistics and forecasts published in computer and
telecommunication trade publications.
For search tips to this database, click here.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Sports Business Research Network / SBRnet:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases. Market research and industry news covering all aspects of the sporting goods industry including: sports equipment sales, sports participation, sports broadcasting, sports sponsorship and sports marketing.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Statistical Universe:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Index to statistics published in commercial,
international and U.S. government publications.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Stocks:
-
Bloomberg:
24-hour-a-day, real-time financial information network for news and analyses of financial markets
and business as well as current and historical data for all securities, statistics, indices, and
research, using a special terminal and keyboard.
UW Restricted; signon available from the Foster Business Library
reference desk staff. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff.
For search tips to this database, click here.
Public PC #20 only.
-
Datastream:
Detailed international securities and economic
data. (U.S. data is not available in Datastream; it is only available in Compustat to
U.W. faculty and Ph.D. students
via BA Computer Services Research Computing.)
For a Princeton tutorial on using this database, click here.
Service
restricted to current UW students,
faculty and staff.
Public PC #20 only.
-
Global Financial Data:
This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Mergent Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Online access to the print edition of the Mergent Manuals, with extensive information on 11,000 U.S. and 17,000 international companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, annual reports, subsidiaries, S.E.C. filings, etc.
For search tips, see About Mergent Online.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under Other Business Databases.
Full text for the following S&P publications: Bond Guide; Corporation Records; Dividend Record; Earnings Guide; Industry Surveys; Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook; Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; Security Dealers of North America; Stock Guide; and Stock Reports.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
(Also available to cardholders via the Seattle Public Library).
Tables:
-
InfoTech Trends:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Formerly called Computer Industry Forecasts. InfoTech
Trends indexes statistics and forecasts published in computer and
telecommunication trade publications.
For search tips to this database, click here.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
Statistical Universe:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Index to statistics published in commercial,
international and U.S. government publications.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Tax:
-
LexisNexis Academic:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
For tax, go to Legal Research and to Codes & Regulation; select Tax Law for sources such as
ABA Tax Lawyer,
AICPA Tax Adviser,
Combined State Attorney General Tax Opinions,
Federal Tax Cases,
Internal Revenue Bulletin/Cumulative Bulletin,
Internal Revenue Code,
International Tax Materials - IBFD,
IRS Actions & Memoranda,
Journal of International Taxation,
Law Reviews - Tax Articles:,
Practical Tax Lawyer,
Private Letter Rulings/Tax Advice Memoranda,
RIA Employee Benefits Alert & RIA Executive Compensation Alert,
RIA Estate & Financial Planners Alert,
RIA Tax Reporter - Income, Estate & Excise,
RIA Weekly Tax Alert,
State Tax Cases,
Tax Analysts Daily Tax News,
Tax Analysts Journals,
Treasury Regulations (Final/Temp/Proposed),
and Warren, Gorham & Lamont Tax Journals.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
-
RIA Checkpoint:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
RIA Checkpoint is a tax database, designed for research, with comprehensive coverage of U.S., international,
and state tax law, analysis, treatises, tax news, rulings, and practical practice aids. The database also includes a
pension and benefits and a payroll library. In addition to the U.S. Internal Revenue Code, this database includes a
number of RIA full text publications such as the Federal Tax Coordinator and the RIA Federal Tax Handbook, as well as
Warren, Gorham, and Lamont tax journals. Use of this database requires a one-time personal registration. Click here to register with your UW NetID.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Trade and Industry Newsletters:
U.S. Data:
-
Global Financial Data:
This database provides access to over 20,000 series of long-term global financial and economic data, both current and historic, gathered from original sources and historic archives, for more than 200 countries. Data is in ASCII or Microsoft Excel format.
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- Historical Statistics of the United
States:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, under List of All Business Databases.
A compilation of statistics from the colonial times to the
Present; includes population, social, business and economic statistics.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
- International Financial Statistics Online:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under List of All Business Databases. The International Monetary fund's International Financial Statistics database is a standard source of international statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports, for most countries of the world, current data needed in the analysis of problems of international payments, inflation, deflation, exchange rates, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Information is presented in country tables and in tables of area and world aggregates.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Venture Capital:
- VentureXpert Web:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
This venture capital database provides worldwide information and statistics on venture capital firms, funding,
disbursements, rounds, industries, geographic areas, executives, etc., with the ability to download data to
spreadsheets.
Service restricted to current UW students,
faculty and staff, with UW NetID.
(U.W. restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and #20.
(Available from Off-Campus)
Wall Street Journal:
-
Factiva:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Factiva is a Dow Jones database that provides full text access to all editions of Dow Jones publications, the Wall Street Journal (back to 1979), Barron's, three months of the New York Times, and 8,000 other publications. In addition, this database provides reports for over 30,000 companies worldwide, much of it from Reuters, over 8,000 selected business Web sites, and Reuters Business Briefings. Service restricted to current UW students, faculty and staff. (U.W.
restricted)
All Foster public PC's except PC #19 and
#20.
-
National Newspapers:
On the Foster Business Library homepage, listed under Databases.
Index and full text for the Atlanta Constitution,
Atlanta Journal, Boston Globe, Christian Science Monitor,
Los Angeles Times, New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and
Washington Post.
For search tips, click here.
&nb