Skip to content

Geography - Finding Articles in Journals & Magazines

Click to move through this page to find databases for:
| Area Studies | Geography | Health | Related Social Sciences | Multidisciplinary Databases |

Area Studies

  More Info AfricaBib.org - Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature.
  More Info AfricaBib.org - African Women's Bibliographic Database
  More Info UW Restricted Bibliography of Asian Studies - Bibliography of western-language periodical articles, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, etc. pertaining to east, southeast, and south Asia.
  More Info UW Restricted Black Studies Center - combines resources for research and teaching in Black studies: Schomburg studies on the Black experience, International index of Black periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago defender, ProQuest dissertations for Black studies, and Black literature index. Database is cross searchable and many articles provided full-text.
  More Info UW Restricted Handbook of Latin American Studies - A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals Latin America. Includes materials in the social sciences and humanities.
  More Info UW Restricted HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index) - Index to articles in magazines and journals produced in and about Central & South America.
  More Info UW Restricted Index Islamicus - A bibliography of books and index of articles in periodicals on Islam and the Muslim world.

Geography

  More Info UW Restricted
Online Geographical Bibliography - 1985-present, books & journal articles added to the American Geographical Society Library at the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee.
 
Geographical Abstracts. Published since 1966 in multiple parts:
A=Geomorphology, 1966-1971
A=Landforms and the quaternary, 1972-1985
B=Biogeography and Climatology, 1966-1973
B=Climatology and hydrology, 1974-1988
C=Economic geography, 1966-1988
D=Social geography, 1966-1967
D=Social geography and cartography, 1968-1971
D=Social and historical geography, 1972-1988
E= Sedimentology, 1972-1988
F=Regional and community planning, 1972-1988
G=Remote sensing, photogrammetry, and cartography, 1978-1988
Geographical Abstracts: Human Geography, 1989-2001 - merger of parts C, D, & F (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks G1.G474)
Geographical Abstracts: Physical Geography, 1989-1999 - merger of parts A, B, E, & G (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks G1.G475)
 
Geographical Bibliography published in the former Soviet Union 1956-present (title varies):
Referativnyi zhurnal. 07., Geografiia. 07E., Geografiia stran na territorii byvshego SSSR (Suzzallo Reference DK18.8 .R44 1994, 1997-present)
Referativnyi zhurnal. Geografiia. E., Geografiia SSSR (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks DK18.8 .R44 1967-1982)
Referativnyi zhurnal. Geografiia (Auxiliary Stacks 551.405 RE 1958-1982)
Referativnyi zhurnal. 07., Geografiia (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks 1983-1991, 1997)
 
Geografska bibliografija Slovenije. Geographic bibliography of Slovenia (Suzzallo Periodicals Z6001 .G43 1966-1992)
 
Geographical Bibliography published in Germany 1855-1999 (title varies):
Mittheilungen aus Justus Perthes' geographischer Anstalt über wichtige neue Erforschungen auf dem Gesammtgebiete der Geographie (Auxiliary Stacks 910.5 PE 1855-1878)
Dr. A. Petermann's Mitteilungen aus Justus Perthes' geographischer Anstalt (Auxiliary Stacks 910.5 PE 1879-1930)
Petermanns Mitteilungen (Auxiliary Stacks 910.5 PE 1931-1937)
Petermanns geographische Mitteilungen (Auxiliary Stacks 910.5 PE 1938-1999)
 
Geographical Bibliography published in France 1890-present (title varies):
Annales de géographie. Bibliographie (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks 910 A-B471 1893-1898)
Bibliographie géographique annuelle (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks 910 A-B471 1899-1913/14)
Bibliographie géographique (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks 910 A-B471 1915/19-1930)
Bibliographie géographique internationale. International geographical bibliography (Suzzallo/Allen Stacks 910 A-B471 1931-1975/76; Baker Auxiliary Stacks Z6001 .B57 1976-1990)
Francis bibliographie géographique internationale. 531 (Baker Auxiliary Stacks Z6001 .B57 1991-1994)
Bibliographie géographique internationale. Francis 531 : BGI. Francis 531 = International geographical bibliography. Francis 531 (Suzzallo Reference Z6001 .B57 1995- present)

Health

  More Info PubMed - U.S. National Library of Medicine biomedical journal literature search system
  More Info UW Restricted CINAHL Plus (Ebsco) - Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature
  More Info UW Restricted ProQuest Medical Library - Medical topics covered in newspapers, popular, trade, and scholarly publications.
  More Info UW Restricted PopLine - Population, family planning, and related health issues.

Related Social Sciences

  More Info UW Restricted America: History & Life - journals articles about the history of the United States & Canada, prehistory to present.
  More Info UW Restricted Anthropological Literature - anthropology and archaeology.
  More Info UW Restricted Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals - index to articles about urban planning, archaeology, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture; covers 1934 to the present
  More Info UW Restricted CAB Abstracts - Provides access to citations and abstracts of the international agricultural literature, including plant protection, forestry engineering, animal husbandry, animal and plant breeding, genetics, veterinary medicine, nutrition, rural development, economics, and leisure and tourism. CAB Abstracts indexes articles, books, conferences, reports and other kinds of literature.
  More Info UW Restricted EconLIT - Main source for finding scholarly articles, books, conference proceedings and working papers in economics.
  More Info UW Restricted Historical Abstracts - journals articles about history of the world other than North America, 1450 to present.
  More Info UW Restricted Left Index - Diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social, and culturally engaged scholarship.
  More Info UW Restricted PAIS International - Covers social and public policy literature from thousands of periodicals, government documents, books, and other sources. Includes the PAIS archive database which covers material published 1915-1976.
  More Info UW Restricted POPLine - Reproductive health database; provides citations with abstracts of the worldwide literature in the field of population, family planning, and related health issues.
  More Info UW Restricted Sociological Abstracts - the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences; covers journal articles, book reviews, abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
  More Info UW Restricted Studies on Women & Gender Abstracts - Search for scholarly books and social science journal articles in this small, UK-focused database.

Multidisciplinary Databases

  More Info UW Restricted Academic Search Complete- multi-disciplinary full-text database
  More Info UW Restricted Expanded Academic Index - Multidisciplinary
  More Info UW Restricted ProQuest Research Library - Multidisciplinary, popular and scholarly.
  More Info UW Restricted Family Studies Abstracts - contains bibliographic records covering essential areas related to family studies, including marriage, divorce, family therapy, etc.
  More Info UW Restricted Social Sciences Citation Index - Multidisciplinary, part of the Web of Science. Search by author, keywords, or by cited reference.
  More Info UW Restricted Statistical Universe - Index to statistical content/tables in publications of government agencies (state, federal, international), independent research and professional/trade organizations.
  More Info UW Restricted Web of Science - Multidisciplinary. Search by author, keywords, or by cited reference.

Questions? Comments? Email:   Anne Zald
Last modified: Friday February 08, 2008 (azald)