INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
(UW-Restricted)
- Academic
Search Complete - A comprehensive database for all subjects, with lots
of full-text. Includes magazines, newspapers, books, conferences, as well
as academic journals.
- ACM Digital Library - Citations and
full-text of Assocation for Computing Machinery articles in journals, magazines,
and conference proceedings.
- Arts and Humanities Citation Index
(Web of Science) - Cited references for social sciences and arts & humanities,
as well as current article citations. Coverage 1975 to the present.
- BLLDB (Bibliographie Linguistischer
Literatur) - one of the most important sources of bibliographical information
for general as well as English, German, and Romance linguistics. From the
University Library Frankfurt/Main. Coverage is 1971+
- Engineering
Village - Scholarly journals, conference proceedings, government reports,
and book chapters in every field of engineering. Computer science is well
covered, but can be searched with Inspec to remove duplicate entries. Coverage
from 1884 to the present.
- ERIC
- Citations for journal articles, documents and reports, and books in education,
including language teaching.
- IEEE Xplore - Full-text access
to IEEE Transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, conference proceedings,
and current IEEE standards. Note: Please LOG OUT when you are done.
- Inspec
- Index to research literature in Computing and Control, Information Technology,
Physics, and Electrical Engineering. Coverage 1896 to the present.
- LLBA
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts - Indexing and abstracting of
scholarly journals in all fields of linguistics. Coverage 1973 to the present.
- MLA
- index to scholarship in linguistics, literature and folklore; online coverage
from 1963
- Philosopher's Index
- Proquest
Dissertations and Theses Full-text - More than 1 million full-text dissertations.
Abstracts for U.S. dissertations and master's theses since 1861. Additional
help.
- PsycInfo
- Covers academic, research, and practice literature in psychology and related
disciplines; 1872 to the present.
- Sociological
Abstracts - The most comprehensive index for sociology journal articles;
also includes conference papers and dissertations.
- Web of Science - Current article
citations and cited reference searching for science (from 1955), arts &
humanities (from 1975), and social sciences (from 1975).
WEB SITES
- ACL Anthology - A digital
archives of Research Papers in Computational Linguistics
- CSLI - Stanford University Center
for the Study of Language and Information - devoted to research in the emerging
science of information, computing, and cognition.
- The Linguist List - Important
forum for academic linguistics topics, from Eastern Michigan University. Includes
book reviews, computer tools, links to corpora and much more
- Linguistic Data Consortium - Data,
tools and standards for language-related education, research and technology
development.
- Linguistic Society of America - the
major professional society in the U.S. dedicated to the advancement of the
scientific study of language.
- YourDictionary.com - hundreds
of language dictionaries, grammars, listings of endangered languages, and
more.