Award Details


The Distinguished Librarian Award is presented annually by the University of Washington Libraries to a librarian whose contributions advance the mission of the Libraries and the University. The awardee is recognized at the University of Washington Awards of Excellence Ceremony.


University of Washington Librarians (UW Seattle, Bothell, Tacoma, Law Librarians), either full-time or part-time, with permanent, provisional, continuing or non-continuing status are eligible. Librarians with temporary appointments are not eligible. Members of the selection committee are not eligible during their term of service. A librarian may receive the award only once.

Nomination Procedure

Anyone may nominate a librarian for the Distinguished Librarian Award. Nominators should submit a completed nomination form and a letter of nomination (two pages maximum). The Selection Committee asks nominees for their CVs and the names of up to three people who could serve as references. The committee then contacts the references to ask for letters of support. Letters should discuss the nominee's accomplishments and how she or he contributes to the Libraries and to the University. The Committee makes decisions based solely on the content of the nomination and support letters, and does not review additional materials or websites. After the awards are announced, each nominee will receive a copy of his or her nomination packet. Individuals nominated are kept in the pool for three years.


      The award recognizes excellence in librarianship, especially as it benefits the academic community through innovative approaches to professional practice, research, and/or teaching and learning. Additional factors include creativity, leadership, service, scholarship, and demonstration of the University of Washington values of integrity, diversity, excellence, collaboration, innovation and respect.

      Selection Committee

      The selection committee is appointed by the Vice Provost for Digital Initiatives and Dean of University Libraries, and is composed of librarians drawn from the three UW campuses, a representative designated by the chair of the Faculty Council on University Libraries, and a representative from the Information School. The Vice Provost and Dean designates one member of the committee to serve as its chair. The selection committee issues the call for nominations, reviews the nomination packets, and makes recommendations to the Vice Provost and Dean of University Libraries who makes the final selection.

      2019-20 Selection Committee

      • Leslie Hurst, Head of Teaching & Learning/Literature & Humanities Librarian, UW Bothell/Cascadia Campus Library, Chair
      • Adebola Fabiku, Head, Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Services and Interim Co-director of Access Services
      • Erin Grant, Director, Cataloging and Metadata Services
      • Michael Moore, Grants Administration and Special Projects Librarian, Health Sciences Library
      • Marisa Petrich, Instructional Design Librarian, UW Tacoma Campus Library
      • Hyokyoung Yi, Korean Studies Librarian and Head of Public Services, East Asia Library
      • Trent Hill, Senior Lecturer, Information School and Chair, Faculty Council on University Libraries


      • August 2019: Vice Provost and Dean of University Libraries appoints Selection Committee
      • September 23 - November 25, 2019: Selection Committee issues call for nominations
      • November 25, 2019: Deadline for nominations
      • December 20, 2019: Deadline for letters and CVs.
      • December 20, 2019 - January 17, 2020: Nomination review
      • February 6, 2020: Libraries reception held to honor all nominees
      • Spring 2020: Awardee announced and will be honored at the annual Awards of  Excellence ceremony and reception June 11, 2020